Return of The Cajun Samurai!

Hey guys, Samurai here.

Wow, it’s been FOREVER since I typed out that sentence. In actuality, it’s only been about 8 months.

DigimonAdventure (21)

First and foremost, I would like to sincerely apologize to all my readers (or the readers I have left anyway) for my extended, abrupt, and unexplained absence. Life tends to get in the way at the most inopportune times, and I am clearly no exception.

In April of 2015, I resigned my position as a Station Agent for Envoy Air (American Airlines) at Baton Rouge Metropolitan Airport. The reason being? Well, the pay sucked for one and the management sucked even worse. I was being payed BELOW minimum wage, and the mangers that were “working” for the company were only looking out for themselves and not for their employees. Even with our flight privileges, it couldn’t make up for the abysmal wages I was being paid and the working conditions I was being subjected to. Working “On the Ramp” is a harrowing and dangerous prospect if you don’t know what you’re doing, and I don’t recommend it for the faint of heart…and I especially don’t recommend anyone work for Envoy Air.

So, I decided to move from the air to the ground and I am currently employed as a Courier for FedEx Express. The pay is decent, the management is decent, and I’m actually having a lot of fun. It was a welcome yet challenging change that took a lot of my attention and energy for the first couple of months. You have to be a special sort of crazy to work for FedEx, and as it turns out, I’m that special sort of crazy.

1436088257_amada-kun to 7-nin no Majo

With regards to my life in all things animated, that’s been about as big an up and down roller coaster as my employment status. For a while, I kinda eased off of watching anime. It wasn’t that I was getting completely tired of it, more that I was getting bored with the offerings. In fact, I sat out one complete anime season, opting instead to watch older shows and anything that came on Toonami, for better or worse. It just seemed like for the last couple months, there wasn’t anything really good coming out that caught my attention. I would hear my Twitter friends talk about shows like One Punch Man or Himouto: Umaru-Chan just didn’t do anything for me. (The later actually really and truly annoyed me. First it was the barefooted boob-tying goddess from Is It Wrong To Try and Pick Up Girls In A Dungeon? Now it’s spoiled hamster-hoodie girls? Ugh…) I couldn’t really get excited about many shows in 2015, admittedly…with the exception of Ore Monogatari, Yamada-Kun and the Seven Witches, Digimon Adventure Tri, and Food Wars! All of which I will get around to reviewing later so watch this space.

tumblr_lsp5siMzOm1qlbdwn

In my other anime related news, I finally got with the 2010’s and got my hands on a Playstation 3. My parents recently got a GIGANTIC new LCD TV for the living room in our house. This ment that I was able to get my hands on old-reliable; a 42 inch LG HDTV. The screen is not the prettiest thing in the world, showing dark shadows on the screen that I can’t seem to get rid of, but it shows pretty enough for me, and it meant that I could finally get into high definition television and anime viewing. However, my dear PS2, workhorse that it was, just didn’t show as clear as I would’ve liked, even with the use of Composite cables. I then made the decision to upgrade to the PS3 which would kill three tech birds with one Sony stone. I could have a high definition gaming system, an internet streaming system for Netflix, YouTube, Hulu, Funimation and CrunchyRoll, as well as a Blu-Ray movie player. Admittedly, I haven’t noticed a big difference in quality with regards to anime. The few anime Blu-Ray disks I have look about 20% better than their DVD counterparts. But still, something is better than nothing! Oh, by the way, I’m on the PlayStation Network as “Cajun Samurai”, so if you wanna add me on a buddy list, that’s how you find me!

tumblr_m0osp8gNFn1qe2tzb

So…my future plans for this blog? Well, of course I’m going to keep it going. “The Cajun Samurai” ain’t going nowhere. I’m in it for the long haul. Granted there may be times when I’m MIA for a few weeks, but rest assured I am still here and thinking about this blog and it’s readers. I have a few ideas for some special posts I wanna do in addition to my reviews, so please be on the lookout for that. Also, if memory serves, I kinda left the whole “30-Day Anime Challenge” incomplete, so look for me to complete that in the coming days! I started it, and I aim to finish it!

Speaking of reviews…there’s one thing I wanna review first and foremost. ONE THING that I just recently got my hands on…and am confused as heck about. Yes, boys and girls, my first review after my long hiatus will be…

MANG3145_Evangelion_3.33_2D

Evangelion 3.33 – You Can (NOT) Redo

Speak Your Mind...

