30-Day Anime Challenge! Day 13: Anime Character You Are Most Similar To

Hey guys, Samurai here with Day 13 of the 30-Day Anime Challenge! Yesterday was pretty intense, so today, we’re going to lighten things up! Todays topic is to pick an anime character you are most similar to. Honestly, finding one single character that fits my…shall we say…unique personality…is quite difficult. I tried asking my friends their opinions, and got some varying responses ranging from Digimon Adventure’s Koushiro “Izzy” Izumi to, oddly enough, Edward Elric from Fullmetal Alchemist. While I do love and appreciate my friends and their opinions, I honestly could not see myself being either one of these characters–I’m not quite as geeky as Izzy, and I’m not quite as hotheaded as Edward Not to mention I’m about 4 feet taller. Yeah, I said it. Anyway, after some careful deliberation, I managed to find two characters that pretty much make the person who you see before you. Who did I pick? More after the break.

Day 13: Anime Character You Are Most Similar Too — Sasahara from Genshiken and Motoharu from Daily Lives of Highschool Boys

Genshiken_-_manga_panel

Yup. I picked two again. I’m a complex person, don’t you know. Anyway, these two characters are pretty much animated versions of myself. Sasahara represents me as an anime fan. If you recall in the first couple episodes, Sasahara kinda struggles with allowing himself to dive deep into the world of anime, manga and games and revealing that side of his personality to others. There’s also a moment in Episode 3 when Sasahara goes shopping with the other members of Genshiken at Comic Festival. He sets off on his own and begins going wild, buying just about every dojinshi in sight featuring the Student Council President character in Kujibiki Unbalance. When he says the line “Oh…  I feel like something inside my skull is about to crack it open and come crawling out!” I immediately laughed and said to myself “Heaven know’s I’ve been there!” Sasahara pretty much represents me as a new anime fan and even still to this day, I can still relate to a lot of what he goes through.

4b048751ed538ca13ec6b13e6f203d42

I also picked Motoharu, the soft-spoken, dark-skinned, Student Council Vice President from Daily Lives of Highschool Boys. I really see a lot of myself in this character–misunderstood, somewhat immature, dense, and did not learn how to ride a bike until MUCH later in life. I also love the relationship between Motoharu and his sister. It reminds me of how my late sister and I were. (to a point…she never threatened to shave off my mustache or goatee…thank goodness) Also, the fact that Motoharu is somewhat darker than the other characters makes me relate to him even more. So, yeah. Two characters that sum up my general personality. Guess I really am a Gemini after all.

Check back tomorrow for Day 14 of the Anime Challenge, and the one with by far the longest title…”Anime That Never Gets Old No Matter How Many Times You’ve Re-watched It”.

Oh, and before I forget! The friend who compared me to Izzy has a YouTube channel that is worth checking out–especially his AnimeSins segment in which he points out the errors, inconsistencies and just plain oddities in anime and movies. Check him out on YouTube here and follow him on Twitter here!

Speak Your Mind...

