30-Day Anime Challenge! Day 8: Favorite Anime Couple

Hey guys, Samurai here with Day 8 of the 30-Day Anime Challenge! Sticking with the theme of love, it looks like the creators of the challenge want to know about my favorite anime couple. Wow. Not a simple question at all. I mean, there are so many couples that I hold in high regard in the world of anime–Renton and Eureka from Eureka Seven, Hideaki and Chi from Chobits, Arima and Yukino from His and Her Circumstances, Akira Tsubaki and Mikoto Urabe from Mysterious Girlfriend X, Asaka Taiga and Ryuji Takasu from Toradora…the list goes on and on and on. Picking one is difficult. But, after a few minutes I think I locked down on which one is my favorite. And you’ll never believe who I picked. More after the break.

Day 8: Favorite Anime Couple — Ai Tanabe and Hachirota “Hachimaki” Hoshino from Planetes

Planetes_08.jpg

Yeah, I know this is not part of the mainstream couples that other people would pick from, but you guys already know I march to the beat of my own drummer.  Ai and Hachimaki are probably the first non-high school couple I had ever seen in anime. Seriously, it’s refreshing to see two adults go about starting a relationship instead of your typical school-age boy and girl fumbling about. Don’t get me wrong, Ai and Hachimaki do their own share of fumbling about throughout the series; each trying hard to figure the other out and relate to each other while all the while developing deepening feelings for each other. Then, after a few random events that threaten to pull them apart including Hachimaki becoming disillusioned with everything except his goal, they somehow find their way back to each other and reaffirm their relationship, their bond deepening even though the physical distance between them in the last episode is million of miles away.

Check back tomorrow for Day 9 of the 30-Day Anime Challenge–“Best Anime Villain”

Speak Your Mind...

