30-Day Anime Challenge! Day 5: Anime You’re Ashamed You Enjoyed

Happy Cinco De Mayo! Samurai here with Day 5 of the 30-Day Anime challenge! Now we’re starting to get into the real fun topics–the reason why I really decided to do the challenge in the first place. It’s topics like these that I love that give you the reader an idea of what goes on in my head when it comes to anime. To that end, it’s time to bear my soul and reveal a show that, by all accounts, I should hate, but I found myself returning to again and again and again. More after the break!

Day 5: Anime You’re Ashamed You Enjoyed — Binan Koukou Chikyuu Bouei-bu LOVE!

tumblr_static_1q5gnind0n0gs8s0kok848ocg

On paper, this should be an anime that I stray away from–five high school boys encounter a talking pink wombat who gives them powers to fight the forces of evil in their school with the power of love. It’s like Free! meets Sailor Moon…two shows that really don’t impress me much. But, honestly, there was something about this show that just kept me coming back for quite a few episodes. Unlike…that Swimming Anime, LOVE! didn’t take itself seriously; the characters know that the situations they were being asked to take part in and the motions they went through were campy, stupid, overly flashy and just plain dumb, and on several occasions the characters actually say as much. And I suppose that’s what kept me coming back; the fact that this show goes over the top and is as flamboyant as Chairman Kaga from “Iron Chef”, yet the show still finds a way to wink at the audience with a grin like “Yeah, don’t take this seriously; we’re not.”

Check back tomorrow for Day 6 of the Anime Challenge–“Anime You Want To See But Haven’t Yet”

Speak Your Mind...

