30-Day Anime Challenge! Day 3: Favorite Male Anime Character Ever

Hey guys, Samurai here once again for Day 3 of the Anime Challenge! Today’s topic is something that is both stupidly easy to answer yet tragically complex to explain–favorite anime character! I seriously took all day to figure out who my favorite male anime character is. It’s not an easy question–I’ve come across many, many, many male characters in anime that could qualify; characters like Akira Takizawa from Eden of the East, Soul “Eater” Evans from Soul Eater, Ginko from Mushi-shi, Hachirota “Hachimaki” Hoshino from Planetes…Mutta Nanba from Space Brothers…the list goes on and on! But, thankfully, I managed to lock down on one guy who rocks my proverbial socks over all of them. Who did I pick? More after the break.

Day 3: Favorite Male Anime Character Ever – Nicholas D. Wolfwood from Trigun

Yes, I picked everyone’s favorite chain-smoking priest Wolfwood. Honestly, it was a real tossup between Vash and Wolfwood. Both of these characters are amazing, and when you put them together, they make an anime about the futuristic old west become legendary.

TrigunWolfwood

However, at the end of the day, my nod goes to Mr. Priest Man. I really and truly enjoyed what he brought to the show. He wasn’t just a sidekick for Vash who went along for the ride. Wolfwood had his own journey to go on and his own issues to deal with in ways that he feels are right. Unlike Vash, who resolves to NEVER take a life even at the cost of his own, Wolfwood, almost contrary to the teachings of his faith, believes that taking a life is a necessary evil, and will not hesitate to do so. As a sign of this burden he metaphorically carries, Wolfwood physically carries a heavy cross with him wherever he goes–a sign of both the sins he carries, and, as he says in his premiere episode, a reminder of the mercy of the God he serves. Now, I’m not a Theology student by any means, so maybe I’m wrong in my interpretation, [in fact, my Tangled friend Charles wrote several awesome articles regarding Wolfwood and his faith, which I will link to at the bottom of the page…] but that does not take away from the fact that I believe that Wolfwood, from his first episode to his last, is one of the greatest male characters that I’ve ever come across. Trust and believe, this will not be the last time you hear about Mr. Priest Man in this Challenge…

Check back tomorrow for Day 4 of the Anime Challenge–“Favorite Female Anime Character Ever”.

DigimonScreenCaptures_020.jpg

As promised, here are just a handful of articles written by Charles over at Beneath the Tangles about Wolfwood, his faith in God, and the differences between him and Vash. He explains it a heck of a lot better than I ever could!

Wolfwood and Vash: A Contrast in Faith

Something More: Crucifixion in Anime, Wolfwood’s Tithing, and Religion in Pokemon

While I Was Yet Lost: Wolfwood Meets Grace

Spirituality in the Anime Blogosphere: The Gospel According to Wolfwood

5 thoughts on “30-Day Anime Challenge! Day 3: Favorite Male Anime Character Ever

Speak Your Mind...

