30-Day Anime Challenge! Day 2: Favorite Anime You Watched So Far

Hey guys, Samurai here again! It’s Day 2 of the 30 Day Anime Challenge, and today’s topic is “Favorite Anime You Watched So Far”. Admittedly, I had a hard time with this one…so much so that I actually ended up picking two. Yes, I know that’s cheating, but I’m the Cajun Samurai and I do what I wanna so nyah, nyah, nyah. Besides, anyone who has followed this blog for any length of time, or anyone who knows me for any length of time can easily figure out what my favorite anime is in pretty much three guesses. More after the break.

Day 2: Favorite Anime You Watched So Far – Aria The Natural & Psalms of Planets Eureka Seven

Yes, I know the spirit of the challenge is to pick one, but like I said earlier, I’m the Cajun Samurai–I don’t follow the rules; the rules follow me. In any case, I have a long freaking list of “favorite” anime, and as it turns out, on that list, both Aria and Eureka Seven are in a tie for the top spot. Both of these shows, in their own unique way, have changed my outlook on anime and what it could be. Incidentally, these are the only two shows that I have successfully shown to my mother and shows she’s actually enjoyed.

Undine.(Aria.The.Animation).full.275742

Aria The Natural is  the most perfect anime I’ve ever seen. It gently picks you up and takes you to a whole new world of peace and serenity that I have yet to see any other anime do before or since. Now please don’t take this as a slight against Aria The Animation or Aria The Origination; all three of these shows are animated perfection. It’s just that Animation is an introduction to the characters and Origination is a conclusion of the entire series. I picked Natural above these two because it’s a happy and literal medium between the two; I don’t have to sit through episode after episode of character introductions, nor do I have to deal with the finality of the ending. Natural is just a beautiful world-growing season of the series that makes you happy to be alive.

Eureka, Maurice, Linck, Mater and Renton from

With regards to Eureka Seven, well, that show is just fun to watch because it can be watched on so many levels. You can look at it as a coming of age story, a shoot ’em up mecha story, a romantic story, a drama, you name it. Eureka Seven gives you so much on so many levels, it’s almost impossible to become bored with it. You really become engaged with the story on an emotional level; you want Renton to succeed in his relationship with Eureka, you want to deck Holland for being such a jerk, you want the kids to be a little less bratty. Anytime a show is so engaging that my mother, who is by no stretch of the imagination an anime fan, actually asked me if I could let her borrow my Eureka Seven DVD’s so she can watch them on her own, you know a show is something special.

Check back tomorrow for Day 3 of the Anime Challenge–“Favorite Male Anime Character Ever”. Spoiler Alert: It’s not Kirito from Sword Art Online or Eren from Attack on Titan.

Speak Your Mind...

