30-Day Anime Challenge! Day 1: First Anime You Watched

CD85kopUsAAAzgxHey Guys! Samurai here! Yes, I know it’s been about 2 months since I last wrote anything. I’m so sorry about that! Hopefully this month I’ll be able to make up for it! A friend of mine on Twitter challenged me to the 30-Day Anime Challenge. This means that everyday for 30 days, I’ll tweet about a particular subject according to a chart. Now, me being the nutcase I am, decided to take things one step further and write up 30 small articles everyday concurrent with the Challenge.

Day 1: Very First Anime You Watched – Fushigina Koara Burinkī

NoozlesProdigious! We’re starting off with some nostalgia. Samurai loves him some nostalgia. Years and years ago, way back when Nickelodeon was actually good (Yes, I went there), I first caught sight of a cartoon on Nick Jr. that was a little…unusual. It was different from the others, but it was still good. Little did I know I was bearing witness to what would be my very first anime; called Fushigina Koara Burinkī in Japanese, old school anime fans will know this show by its american name Noozles. Long before shows like Pokemon, Digimon, Yu-Gi-Oh and Hamtaro hit the airways, Noozles was one of a handful of anime that Nick Jr. put out to the viewing audience for young kids, and it could be argued that shows like Noozles, Maya the Bee, Grimm’s Fairy Tale Classics and The Littl’ Bits were the fore-bearers for modern-day anime on American television.

The story is a little fuzzy [no pun intended] as it’s been almost 20 years since I actually saw an episode, but thanks to my two good friends Wikipedia and YouTube, I managed to fill in quite a few blanks. Long story short, this girl named Sandy befriends two koala bears named Blinky and Pinky that have magical powers and can travel to a faraway land called KoalaWalla Land, and she would wake up Blinky by rubbing noses. Beyond that…my memory is a blank. Now, don’t give me that look! YOU try remembering the plot of an anime that you seen almost 25 years ago.

In any case, little did I realize at the time, but I was taking one tiny step into a world that would bring me such joy, such heartache, and so many memories. And it’s all thanks to a little girl and her koala bears.

Check back tomorrow for Day 2 of the Anime Challenge–“Favorite Anime You’ve Watched So Far”.

DigimonAdventure (34)Oh, and before I forget. My very good friend and Brother from Another Mother Kendall Lyons wrote up a very prodigious article called “Identity, A Biblical View on Digimon: Digital Monsters”. It is an awesome read, and you really owe it to yourself to check it out, regardless of your religious affiliations. However, he doesn’t explain what exactly happened to Izzy’s shoes in the picture at right. That’s still a mystery. In any case, please head over to his site and show him some love, okay?

Speak Your Mind...

