The Best of 2014: “Best Fall 2014 Anime”

Hey guys! Samurai here, once again continuing my look back at the year that was 2014! We’re now looking at the Fall 2014 anime season! I have to admit, out of all the other seasons of this year, the Fall 2014 anime season has yielded the quite a few nominees for best show of the season. Shows like You Lie In April, Tribe Cool Crew, Gugure! Kokkuri-San, and, yes, even Orenchi no Furo Jijou were all really decent shows! But only these two managed to impress me enough to dub them the best of the season! Which ones did I pick? Click on to find out. 

denki-gai-no-honya-san-thumb-2Best Overall Anime of Fall 2014: The Electric Town’s Bookstore [Denkigai no Hon’ya-san]

Yes, I know, it’s a moe show. This show practically drips moe from every pore. And you know what, in this case, I really don’t care! For me, Denki-Gai clicked on all cylinders. It had a great story premise, amazing characters, and the show was just the thing I needed after a rough and tumble four months which saw me laid off from my present job and starting a brand new, more strenuous one. The story of eight employees of a local dōjinshi [Fan-made manga] shop interacting with each other is simple enough that doesn’t require too much brainpower to enjoy, but it’s not just a big blob of moe fluff. It actually has substance and I never found myself getting tired of the jokes, even though they repeated a few every so often. I also like the fact that, even though this show does have a bit of romantic undertones involving the shop workers, it’s not what defines the entire series; it’s just a peek into the everyday lives of this group of characters, and that’s what I love about this show. [Also, Kameko is my Waifu…don’t look at me like that]

 

1418326522823

Runner Up: I Can’t Understand What My Husband Is Saying [Danna ga Nani o Itteiru ka Wakaranai Ken]

When I first started this list, I made an unofficial rule that I wouldn’t include short series–that is, shows that have a runtime of less than 20 minutes. But this one gets an exception. Why? Because it’s so freaking good! The story of a newlywed couple is pretty bland, but when you add in the fact that the groom is a hard-core anime fan, and the bride is anything but, you get a show that makes you laugh and finds away to bring a spoonful of feels. Also, the references to other shows like Engaged to the Unidentified, Gundam and Evangelion, are worth the price of admission! The last episode was awesome by itself, but with the promise of a new season next year in the Spring, it looks as though I might already have a contender for NEXT year’s “Best Of” list.

Okay folks! That’s it for our breakdown of the best shows of the 2014 anime season! Now, let’s get on to some of the more interesting superlatives, starting with “Best Televised Anime of 2014”.

3 thoughts on “The Best of 2014: “Best Fall 2014 Anime”

  1. I loved watching I Can’t Understand What My Husband is Saying. The issues the show raised were rather pertinent to the average anime fan, and the characters felt realistic. At the same time, the show was utterly hilarious!

Speak Your Mind...

