The Best of 2014: “Best Anime Opening Theme”

Samurai here once again guys! I only got about 20 minutes until 2015 hits, so lets see if we can get this slammed out! Coming up next is the Best Anime Opening Theme of 2014! An opening theme can either help or hurt your anime, and this year, we’ve had more of the former than the later! But only two shows made me take notice! What shows did I pick? Well, click on to find out! 

 

attack-on-titanBest Anime Opening Theme of 2013: “Guren no Yumiya” from Attack on Titan

Lemme put this out here right now: I am not the biggest fan in the world of this show. There, I said it. I think that Attack on Titan is one of the most overblown, overrated, over-hyped anime of the last few years. That being said, the first opening theme song, “Guren no Yumia” is one of the most epic songs I have ever had the pleasure to blast from my Jeep stereo system. It’s a very powerful song, and you can totally imagine this being the battle song of the troops in the show. The opening lines, “Seid ihr das Essen? Nein, wir sind die Jäger!” [Translated as “Are you the food? No we’re the hunters!”] speaks of the defiance and boldness featured throughout the show. It’s an awesome show, and, for better or worse, it matches the tone of the overall show perfectly. 

434Runner Up: “Dragon Soul (Greg Ayres Version)” from DragonBall Kai

Seriously? Did you not see this one coming? I wrote up a whole article comparing the different versions of this song, so it goes without saying that it would get Honorable Mention here! I picked the Greg version because, well, aside from me being an unabashed Greg Ayres fanboy, I really liked his version of the song. Like I mentioned in my earlier article, Mr. Squeaky Raspy really belts this one out! Is it perfect? Nope. Is it awesome? Absolutely.

And that’s it for Best Anime Opening of 2014! Coming up next to close out 2014 is, appropriately enough, the best Closing Theme of 2014! Let’s close out 2014 with awesomeness folks!

Speak Your Mind...

