The Best of 2014: “Best Winter 2014 Anime”

Hey guys! Samurai here! Yes, it’s been a month, and yes I know I missed Christmas. Forgive me! Things have been rather busy for me the last few days. My current job has me working rather strenuously, so by the time I get home, writing a blog post is one of the last things I want to do! HOWEVER, I do recognize my need to keep up the tradition of highlighting the best of the best of the year that was 2014! To kick things off, let’s take a look at what I think was the best anime from 2014 during the Winter Season. There were quite a few great shows out there, but these two stood out from the rest. Let’s get right into it.

SpaceDandyBest Overall Anime of Winter 2014: Space Dandy

The Winter 2014 anime season was a dandy one in more ways than one. Space Dandy, the story of a dandy guy in space traveling with his outdated robot assistant QT and their feline friend Meow, made its worldwide debut on the Toonami time-slot earlier this year, and was met with immediate critical acclaim by fans the world over. What made this show particularly special was that it was one of the few shows that the show was simulcast both in the US and in Japan–something that hasn’t been done in quite a while. I found Space Dandy to be a great show and one of the few out there that was actually worthy of the hype and fan following it received. 

 

noragamiRunner Up: Noragami

Noragami was one of those shows that, to borrow a phrase, came in like a wrecking ball. The story of a middle school girl, whose chance encounter with a hapless, low-level god named Yato turns her into a phantom started out very strong, and the deep multi-faceted characters made coming back week after week for new episodes a joy. However, the ending fell flat on its face, and it was really lacking on many levels. I didn’t get a feeling of satisfaction upon finishing the series. It’s like leaving an all-you-can-eat buffet after only one plate of food. But, ending aside, Noragami was one of the strongest shows of the Winter season.

And that’s it for the best of Winter 2014! Tune in next time when we take a look at the Spring 2014 anime season and see which shows ranked on the top of my list! Later days!

Speak Your Mind...

