News: Renton Gives Birth, Pharrell Turns into an Anime and a Samurai Turns Rōnin

1391719685959Welp, it was bound to happen sooner or later! Hey guys, Samurai here! Yes, it’s been a while, hasn’t it? I’ll get into why it’s been so long since I actually wrote up a review…or much of anything for a while, but let’s start off with some good news, shall we? Anime News Network reports that Renton Thurston has just given birth to a bouncing baby today. Yes, I’m just as confused as you guys are as to how the heck Renton was able to have kids, what with the lacking of the appropriate equipment, but that’s what Anime News Network reports, so I guess it must be true. Congrats to the proud papa and–

[::phone rings::] Excuse me. [::answers::] Yes? Uh-huh. Oh…Ohhhhhhh…I got it now. Uh-huh. Yeah, that makes more sense. Okay. Yeah, thanks. Bye.

Ahem. Forgive me, everyone. It seems as though I was mistaken. That’s what happens, I guess, when you’re out of the writing loop for so long. I’ll correct myself and more after the break!

a0075738_0324675Okay, so as it turns out, we have not, in fact, dropped into some kind of male pregnancy alternate universe. Sorry to disappoint you, fangirls.  Anime News Network reports that Yuko Sanpei, the original Japanese voice actress for Renton Thurston from the amazing Psalms of Planets Eureka Seven series has just given birth to a new baby. No info is available as to the gender, but mother and child are reportedly doing fine, with mom taking some time off to rest in the hospital. Yuko-san says that she looks forward to returning to her V/A duties with her fans support. On behalf of The Cajun Samurai, we would like to extend our heartfelt congrats and well wishes to the family, and we pray that Yuko-san does not pull an Eureka and leave her child with her grandparents while she goes off to look for her husbando.

 

5e58ca63

Moving right along, I’m sure you guys are all familiar with the music artist known as Pharrell. If you haven’t, then what the heck is wrong with you? He’s had on of the most popular songs of this past year, for crying out loud. Well, Pharrell-san has sent tongues wagging again, this time with his latest music video released yesterday for his song “It Girl”. This video, created by Japanese artist Takashi Murakami,  is pretty much a love letter to the world of anime, visual novels, dating sims and general old-school 8 & 16-Bit Video Games. Explaining this video will literally take more time than I currently have in this lifetime, so please just take a look at it for yourselves.

 

pharrell_itgirlvid01My thoughts on it? Well…I actually like it! The animation style is very cool and hip, matching the flow of the song very well, and it really is a feast for the eyes. I am very secure in myself when I say this, but I actually want a chibi Pharrell plush. Quit staring at me. Anyway, this music video, while it does venture slightly into the world of fanservice, is a joy to watch. So far, the anime community reaction has been pretty mixed, with some praising the animation while others are a little put off by the relative young-looking girls in the video that chibi Pharrell is trying to woo. Personally, I really like this video. Yes, I also gave a couple of moments of pause with regards to the loli’s, but it’s not that different from any other regular anime–I mean look at the cast of Hidamari Sketch or Nichijou or even Lucky Star. Those characters look much younger than they actually are. And since we’re never told in the video how old the girls are, and because I do believe that Pharrell-san is not a lolicon, I think we can give him a break.

1392355306689Okay, with that bit of fluff out-of-the-way, it’s time for me to explain exactly what the heck has been going on with me when for the last few days. As you have no doubt noticed, I have been absent from the anime blogosphere for the last couple weeks. And it’s not just here–I’ve also been absent from my freelance writing position over at Sofakingnews. Sadly, my absence has quite a few factors associated with it. Two months ago, my job functions changed resulting in a complete changeover of my work schedule. Instead of working at night, I was now working during the day…and also working every weekend. For those who know me best, you know I’m a real night owl. Waking up early every morning to go to work is not really my strength, but I managed to get myself up and hustle to work like the duteous employee I am. And over time, I managed to get used to the early morning start. It was rough having to go to bed early and wake up early, but I did it because it was what was expected of me as a diligent employee. I’ve been dealing with changes for the 7 years and 9 months I’ve been with the company, so I’ll deal with this change and make the best of it.

1391733340858Then September 4th came. I clocked in, looked at my email, and just about everything I knew fell apart. I found out that day that my entire department was being laid off with our last day scheduled for October 30th. BOOM. You wanna talk about 3rd Impact? That was MY 3rd Impact. Being told that in two months, the job that I had given seven long years to was letting me go was the biggest sock to the gut I think I ever experienced. I had to go into a kind of “emergency mode”; keeping myself calm while frantically trying to search for a job before the clock runs out. The company did give us the option to either go upstairs to the Customer-Facing production floor, or ride out the two months and take a severance package. Having heard my share of horror stories about being on the floor, and having failed the pre-hire assessment,  I decided to take my chances and find another job. As of the time of this printing, I’ve gone on several promising interviews, and I have faith that I will pick up something soon. However, the though of suddenly being unemployed has more or less rendered my ability to write any lengthy anime reviews or articles pretty much to nothing.

1395946140527Now, does this mean that I’m giving up on blogging? ABSOLUTELY NOT! As I have said time and time again, when I created this blog, I was in it for the long run no matter what, and I will continue to write as much as I can! However, I ask that you please be patient with me folks as I go through this very interesting time. I use the word “interesting” because, well, that’s what it is. I mean, does it suck that I’m gonna lose my job? Oh, yeah. Is it scary that I might not find another job before I’m let go from this one? Oh, heck yeah. But I refuse to be negative about it. I refuse to let it get me down. I’m gonna move past this. I have faith that this little road bump will take me to a much better place and my reviewing spark will be back in full effect. Count on it.

That being said, to wrap up this post, lemme offer my review of the 2014 Summer Anime Season. Once again, the views expressed in the below sentence are my own opinions…your mileage may vary:

Everything except Barakamon, Nobunaga Concerto, Blue Spring Ride, and RWBY Season 2 SUCKED…ESPECIALLY Glasslip.

image_1[1]

See you later!

8 thoughts on “News: Renton Gives Birth, Pharrell Turns into an Anime and a Samurai Turns Rōnin

  1. Oh, man, sorry to hear about being laid off. Bummer! Good luck in finding a new job quickly. Good thing is that you show stability and dedication with remaining at one job for 7 years.

    On to the song, its okay, not one of his best but the video is pretty cool.

    1. Hey there! Long time no see! Thank you so much! Yeah, I have to admit, when I was writing up my resume, I was amazed that I stuck with this particular job for as long as I did. I had different positions, of course, but always in the same company in the same building.

      And yeah, the song is okay, but that video, though…WOW…

  2. Your use of the word interesting toward the end reminded me that “May you live in interesting times” is a malediction in China. I remember being laid-off, it can be very rough; but, you’ll pull through. Good luck!

    I’ll look forward to when you can write some lengthy reviews again. The fall 2014 season looks particularly interesting.

    1. That’s the exact quote I had in mind while writing that. “May you live in interesting times.” These are interesting times for me. I won’t say “painful” or “traumatic” because, honestly, those words just don’t apply. This is simply…interesting.

      Thanks so much!

  3. Oh, man, I’m so sorry to hear about your job. You have such a positive attitude about a really difficult situation. I really admire you. And I’ll be praying for you and your interviews – let me know anytime you need me to pray for you.

    Oh, and now I can say I’ve finally seen the Pharrell video! Very cool! Aside from 40-year-old Pharrell and, well, typically underage anime girls.

    1. Thanks bro. Any and all help, spiritual or otherwise, is greatly appreciated. It’s only because of my faith that I’m able to stay as positive as I am. I had to take a few days to regroup mentally and get myself organized. After that, and after some prayer of course, I started making moves and getting myself ready for whatever comes along. Again, thank you so much.

      Yeah, Pharrell might be knocking on the door of being a Lolicon, but I don’t think he’s stepped through…at least I hope he didn’t!

    1. Thanks Brittany! I’ve been filling out applications left, right and center. I’ve had a few interviews, so we’ll see how they work out. I don’t know about me being a substitute–those kids would run me over!

Speak Your Mind...

