The Best of 2013: “Best Male Anime Character”

Cajun Samurai here once again counting down the year that was 2013! Last time, we checked out the best female character in anime, with Maka from Soul Eater walking away with the gold! This time around, let’s check out the best bro of 2013! 

30511-goldentime8-1Best Male Anime Character: Tada Banri from Golden Time

You know, we should all be blessed with a bro like Tada Banri. I mean, he’s a nice guy, he has a good head on his shoulders, and he’s a great boyfriend to Koko…when he’s not reminiscing over the time he had with his old flame, Linda-sempai. He’s a very complex character with a lot going on in his life that makes him all the more interesting to watch episode after episode. But, that alone is not why he gets the top slot this year. It’s all because of a particular scene in Episode 8. Tada Barni sees fellow bro Mitsuo in trouble–there’s a girl trying to get in his apartment [and his pants, by extension…] and she is not giving up. What does Banri-bro do? Simple. He saunters up and makes like he and Mitsuo are lovers. And he removes all the stops, not easing off until the threat of the pushy broad has passed. Now THAT’S a bro to have in your corner!

Nagi no Asukara - 03 - Large 31Runner up: Hikari Sakishima from Nagi no Asukara

No, you’re not reading that wrong. Hikari gets my #2 position this year. Honestly, when this series first started, I couldn’t STAND this character at all. I thought he was abusive, bitter, and just all around unpleasant. In fact, it was because of him that I almost dropped the series all together. HOWEVER…the more I watched our sea-fairing student grow and mature, the more I started coming around and started liking him. Eventually, I found myself actually rooting for him when certain events came up in the show, and I found myself completely devastated when he got turned down by his principal crush.  And let’s not even TALK about that last episode…good grief. In any case, despite having a rough start, I can honestly say that Hikari has become one of my favorite characters this year, and I look forward to seeing what Season 2 brings.

2 thoughts on “The Best of 2013: “Best Male Anime Character”

    1. Yeah, when he started changing and maturing, that’s what really made me like him as a character. And bless his heart, when he got shot down after he confessed his feelings the first time…man, I just wanted to give the little dude a hug! Quite a change!

Speak Your Mind...

