The Best of 2013: “Best Spring 2013 Anime”

Hey guys! Cajun here, and it’s time once again to look back at the lucky year that was 2013 and check out the best of the best in the world of anime! If you recall, in our last post, we gave Good Job Club [GJ-Bu] the nod for best Winter 2013 anime! Now with the melting ice and budding flowers, we announce the best of the 2013 Spring Anime Season!

[Disclaimer: Please note that these are simply my picks for what was awesome this past year. The choices we make  for better or worse, may or may not follow mainstream line of thinking, so please don’t think it a snub if you don’t see your favorite “thing” mentioned in this look-back! These are just our own opinions. Cool? Cool.]

The Main Cast of "Gargantia on the Verdurous Planet"
The Main Cast of “Gargantia on the Verdurous Planet”

Best Overall Anime of Spring 2013: Gargantia on the Verdurous Planet [Suisei no Garugantia]

Hands down this show wins the best of the Spring this year for me. I love a good fish-out-of-water story, and I do enjoy a nice mecha and romance every once in a while too. I know, I’m strange. So when I heard about this anime and sat down for a watch, I fell in love! The characters were amazing and lovable, the story was simple, yet had a complexity about it that kept it from being boring, the action is very well done, and that animation…that animation…this show looks HOT guys! I have to wonder why we haven’t heard more about this show, or why any of the major companies in the US like Funimation or Sentai didn’t pick up this license instead of letting it fall to Viz Media [DVD’s are scheduled to be released sometime in 2014…]. In any case, for the time being, I highly recommend checking this one out on CrunchyRoll and letting yourself fall into the beauty that is this show.

Akira is Shocked at the Turn of Events...Runner Up: None

[Admittedly this was the only show I watched this season, so I couldn’t rightly put a runner up entry here because…I don’t know if anything came close to the above! My bad!]

Coming up next–time to break out the swim trunks and hit the pool because we’re going to be looking at the Best of Summer 2013!

Speak Your Mind...

