A Tag-Team Review of “Seitokai Yakuindomo”: Part II – Girls Talk About WHAT?!?!

[Hey guys! Samurai here with Part II of  our Tag-Team review of “Seitokai Yakuindomo”! No clue what I’m talking about? Check out Part I here! And now, back to the insanity…]

The Cast of "Seitokai Yakuindomo"...Chibified.Animation –

Cajun Samurai – Well, this is a colorful one, isn’t it?

Otaku Andrain – Yeah, everything is nice and bright. Remember this is adapted from a 4-koma which suggests they get lazy on this sort of thing and it’s ok.

Cajun Samurai – But it looks like they put in their work animation-wise with this one. Character designs are well done too. I admit, I love it when the animators show our Seitokai together, and have Suzu out of frame.

Otaku Andrain – That’s an ongoing Manga joke but yeah it’s those little touches that makes this series

Cajun Samurai – I also admire the animators…restraint…for not showing everything that our female cast talks about.

Otaku Andrain – Though I’ll never look at Choco-bananas the same again…

Cajun Samurai – After this show, nobody will ever look at anything the same way again. In any case, your scores sir?

Otaku Andrain – Animation… No complaints. [6.25/6.25]

Cajun Samurai – I have no problems animation wise, myself. Everything was beautiful across the board. [6.25/6.25]

Cajun Samurai Score – 6.25/6.25
Otaku Andrain Score – 6.25/6.25

Music –

SYDsplashOtaku Andrain – So, How about that ending?

Cajun Samurai – Awww, bless your heart, you remembered! Last year, we discussed some of our favorite anime openings and closings, and one closing that ranked high on my list was “Aoi Haru” by Angela.

Otaku Andrain – Though the Opening “Yamato Nadeshiko Education” was just as awesome in my opinion sung by the three heroines.

Cajun Samurai – You can say that again! “Yamato Nadeshiko Education” is bubbly, upbeat, and gets you riled up for the show. The animation is also very beautiful, I have to admit.

Otaku Andrain – The background music matches the situation, and it’s always good to hear it at the start of the show. I have no problems here either. [6.25/6.25]

Cajun Samurai – Any end theme that mentions Wikipedia, Google and has an animated version of the performer as a cameo can’t fail in my book. Music wise, this show rocks. [6.25/6.25]

Cajun Samurai Score – 6.25/6.25
Otaku Andrain Score – 6.25/6.25

Performances and Production –

Cajun Samurai – Okay. On the technical side of things, “SYD” was created by Studio GoHands with director Hiromitsu Kanazawa at the helm. GoHands hasn’t done a lot of projects, admittedly…this being the only one I can recognize on their list.

Otaku Andrain – Must be the reason they keep on releasing OVAs continuing the Anime…

Shino, Suzu and Aria from "SYD"Cajun Samurai – I would guess so. The director also has a short list of series he’s worked on. Some of his highlights include “Emma: A Victorian Romance”…a show I REALLY have to get around to reviewing now that I have my library card back activated…and “Shugo Chara!”

Otaku Andrain – … Why am I not surprised…Shugo Chara: the most perverted outlandish kid show I’ve ever seen… about elementary school kids who might as well be in high school…

Cajun Samurai – SO it’s “SYD” in Elementary?

Otaku Andrain – No it’s quite worse actually! With cross dressing and desires for Incest thrown in. Just wait until the next magical girl month folks! Though the thought of me finishing that drama filled emo fest…grrkk…

Cajun Samurai – Oh my…[::clears throat::] In any case, let’s look at our cast for this show. Sorry folks, but this is a sub-only zone…though I could see ADV Films…Err…Sentai Filmworks picking up something like this…after all, heck, they did pervy shows before to hilarious results.

Otaku Andrain – The problem is, apparently they’re only releasing them in OVA form now for some reason and the 4-koma manga is still ongoing

Cajun Samurai – Yeah. One wonders why they just didn’t make a Season 2.

Otaku Andrain – Guessing the Production Company has no money? Mind you they release an OVA with each new volume. It’s strange but well my day is great every time the next one comes out

Tsuda from "Seitokai Yakuindomo"Cajun Samurai – In any case, our lone male lead Takatoshi Tsuda is voiced by none other than Shintaro Asanuma.

Otaku Andrain – He’s a busy guy; actor, director…this was one of his larger and most well-known roles.

Cajun Samurai – Mm-hmm. He also played the male lead, Kazuma Hoshino, in “A Bridge to the Starry Skies” and Yamato Mizoguchi in the ongoing series “Uchuu Kyoudai” (Space Brothers). In this role, he plays the exasperated straight man flawlessly.

Otaku Andrain – Shino-Chan was voiced by Hikasa Yoko-san. What’s that? You recognized it, of course she’s famous for being the voice of Akiyama Mio!

Cajun Samurai – Can’t say she was type-cast, that’s for sure!

Otaku Andrain – And you know what I thought I recognized her voice in this season’s hit “Maou-sama at Work” Where she plays Yusa Emi. A legendary hero reduced by dimensional shenanigans into a Call center rep

Cajun Samurai – [::sweatdrops::] You REALLY wanna talk about call center reps? Do you NOT remember my occupation?

Otaku Andrain – Made it all the more amusing to me.

Cajun Samurai – Hai. Hai…thankfully I’m not Customer facing…but the agents we have to work with on a day-to-day basis are sometimes worse–Moving swiftly on…

Suzu Exercising her Right to be Moe...Otaku Andrain – Irony strikes! Just as Mio combos perfectly with the spunky drummer Ritsu so too does Shino combo with Aria who is voiced by Sato Satomi-san. They don’t type cast do they?

Cajun Samurai – Indeed. Sato-san’s bio shows her hobbies as being…Collecting cute things, move appreciation, observation, photography, reading and sleeping…my kind of girl!

Otaku Andrain – Yet I can’t think of characters more opposite then Ritsu and Aria…

Cajun Samurai – Hai. Okay, moving down the line, we have Sayuri Yahagi as our little Suzu-chan.

Otaku Andrain – Sayuri-san has done a lot she tends to play the Girl in love more often than anything but she does the Suzu really well.

Cajun Samurai – Here’s something interesting for you, she played Kaya Miyoshi in the “Bakuman” series…

Otaku Andrain – So she did, girls in love right she’s also ironically Baka Number 1 in the legendary Hayate no Gotoku Baka Trio Segawa Izumi.

Cajun Samurai – Quite a pedigree.

Aria, Shino and Suzu During The Opening...Otaku Andrain – IT’s hard to knock things in this bunch. I mean each episode starts with an anime only Student Council rule.

Cajun Samurai – Oh yeah, I was wondering when this one would come up! Your favorite rule, sir?

Otaku Andrain – Oh geeze, It’s been forever… let’s see…

Cajun Samurai – Here’s something to refresh your memory: [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xM765deMw0w]

Otaku Andrain – 11! The only applicable one!

Cajun Samurai – “No talking during class?” …good enough for me! I’m partial to Rule #4…recycling is always good….don’t look at me like that.

Otaku Andrain – Hai, hai… not the worse one…

Cajun Samurai – I have to admit, it’s a very distinctive way to start every episode…way better than the “Please sit in a well lit room not too close to the screen” messages of anime gone by.

Otaku Andrain – Props to the director and the staff! Boss I really can’t think of anything to take points off of I mean sure we can see the 4-koma style but it only helps the series. Those little messages between segments are hilarious. The VAs are fantastic particularly Hata-san’s VA Arai Satomi-san… Who did Kozue-Chan for all of those who watch “Mahoraba”. I mean, geeze…

Cajun Samurai – Yeah, me neither. The production of this show is awesome. Acting across the board is great and there aren’t any hiccups anywhere. [12.5/12.5]

Otaku Andrain – Honestly other than the subject matter I’d recommend it to anyone! Well, I still do anyway… [12.5/12.5]

Cajun Samurai Score – 12.5/12.5
Otaku Andrain Score – 12.5/12.5

Scoring Summary:

Story Breakdown – 22.5/25
Characters – 25/25
Animation – 12.5/12.5
Music – 12.5/12.5
Performance and Production – 25/25

Final Score – 97.5/100 = 97.5% – (A)

Conclusion – 

Otaku Andrain – Well, I can see they did really well. I mean I enjoyed it throughout it wasn’t like the gags got old you know? They just kept on coming and I just kept laughing.

Cajun Samurai – A 97.5…that is a very respectable score! Wouldn’t you say?

Otaku Andrain – Indeed, just remember this Anime is the most perverted non-perverted anime ever conceived and it just does everything well

Cajun Samurai – Exactly. This show is pretty much one of the most perverted shows I’ve ever seen, even though nothing ever is seen! However, if you’re looking for humor laced with innuendo, then “SYD” is the one for you!

The Main Cast of "Kill Me Baby!"Otaku Andrain – Well Boss I figure I’ll take the next one, and turn back the clock a little.

Cajun Samurai – …don’t tell me you’re doing “Golden Boy”?! We can’t take two perverted ones back to back like that!

Otaku Andrain – Nah I’m going with something more innocent, like assassins

Cajun Samurai – Assassins…ah, excellent. Well, after you finish that one, I’ll take a similar route. Japanese Assassins…

Otaku Andrain – I think we’re thinking the same one?

Cajun Samurai – …ninjas?

The Main Cast of "Ninja Nonsense" Otaku Andrain – Mine has one ninja?

Cajun Samurai – Mine has one cute ninja, one reluctant best friend, a perverted sensei, and about 500 Sosuke’s. And no, ladies, not that emo twit…

Otaku Andrain – Good enough! Stay tuned next time on “The Cajun Samurai”, I’m bringing you all…“Kill Me Baby!”

Cajun Samurai – And please stick around afterwards as I check out…“Ninja Nonsense: The Legend of Shinobu”…Until then, I am Cajun Samurai…

Otaku Andrain – And I’m Otaku Andrain

Cajun Samurai – Peace out!

One thought on “A Tag-Team Review of “Seitokai Yakuindomo”: Part II – Girls Talk About WHAT?!?!

Speak Your Mind...

