“Digimon Adventure 02” Ending Revisited and Remixed [Part 2]

[Hey guys! Back again for Part 2 of our Reimaged “Digimon Adventure 02” Ending discussion! This time around we discuss the future of four more of or beloved “Digi-Destined”, we discuss how our favorite ditz redeems herself here in America during a time of national tragedy, and we discuss the future of paperback books in the year 2027! So, let’s get right into it!]

Paige – Who’s next?

Cajun Samurai – From the original crew, let’s look at Sora.

Paige – [::shudders::] Oh, Sora.

Cajun Samurai – Somehow…Sora…just didn’t look quite right. And her job as a fashion designer doesn’t do it any better.

Paige – Yeah. She looked particularly… Japanese. But extremely traditional, with the kimono and the up do. So what do you think? Did she continue her athletic career after graduation?

Cajun Samurai – In a perfect world, she would’ve. She would have remained true to what we knew about Sora throughout the series. Sora was a great character in season 1, but 02…umm…I just didn’t know what the creators wanted to tell me about her.

Paige – Me either. She kind of faded into the background. Maybe she took over her mom’s flower shop?

Cajun Samurai – Yeah, because we see how EXCITED she was to do that in Season one…

Paige – I don’t know! You come up with something, I’m doing all the work over here. Don’t worry, nothing could be as bad as a fashion designer.

Cajun Samurai – ::stares:: NOTHING?

Paige – It’s a figure of speech. Of course I don’t mean NOTHING. I mean, they could be astronauts.

Cajun Samurai – Okay. In my book, Sora Takenouchi would be Sora Yagami [Kamiya].

Paige – Now would be a good time to mention her and Matt’s suspicious hair colors. Now, it’s never explicitly explained that they got together, but Matt’s kid has Sora’s hair and Sora’s kid has Matt’s hair. And we all know what that means in the Digi-verse.

Cajun Samurai – Somebody’s been knocking boots.

Paige – Although I definitely agree with you, Socks, she’d be better as a Mrs. Kamiya.

Cajun Samurai – Okay. Let’s move on to Mimi. She’s a Cooking Show host. Umm…Mimi knows how to cook?

Paige – Apparently. It doesn’t surprise me that she’s on camera, but I don’t think this is the best way for her to do it.

Cajun Samurai – I would say not…especially when your Digimon Partner is essentially a walking head of lettuce. Just saying. One slip of the knife and voila–Palmon Salad.

Paige – Ha-ha, I never thought of it that way. She does need a safer occupation for her digimon. And I don’t think she’d ever leave the USA, because even when she was in Japan, she loved the Texas look. And then she upgraded to a red, white, and blue ensemble? She’s too patriotic to leave.

Cajun Samurai – If memory serves me right, there is a Drama CD Released only in Japan where Mimi actually helps first responders at Ground Zero on 9/11.

Paige – …Wow. That’s awfully serious for the series. But I do respect her a bit more now.

Cajun Samurai – I know, huh? When I first found out about that little addition in the Drama CD, I really grew to admire Mimi. She has a good heart. And, as you probably already know, I would prefer Mimi to be Mrs. Izumi…

Paige – Oh believe me, I know how you feel. You feel it so strongly it rubbed off on me. We can say they got married. Maybe they just vacation stateside often.

Cajun Samurai – Yeah, that would be… Prodigious.

Paige – Oh yeah. That just happened.

Cajun Samurai – Hey! I couldn’t help it! IT’s a cool word!

Paige – It’s an epic word! Did I ever tell you we named our team Prodigious (at my suggestion) for the dorm Olympics back in college? We totally won.

Cajun Samurai – Awesome! The power of the Prodigious spreads even to the real world, peeps! Now, let’s move right on down the line…we got Reliable Joe Kido next, acting as the Digital World’s doctor.

Paige – See, I don’t really have a problem with that one, either. It even explains how Joe got around his aversion of [human] blood!

Cajun Samurai – Oh yeah! I remember in the series he did say he got sick at the sight of blood! Honestly, I don’t have any kind of problem with him being a Digital World doctor…

Paige – So I guess we can move on to the younger kids. Should we start with TK?

Cajun Samurai – Sure; as it turns out, our friend TK has become a novelist, writing about all the adventures the group has had in book form.

Paige – And can I say, that anyone who comes up with the sentence, “The Darkness has not been conquered, and will continue to fight against the Light forever, but as long as people remember to follow their dreams evil will be kept at bay,” SHOULD NOT BE WRITING.

Cajun Samurai – Agreed…that sentence by itself is just…so…wrong. And…If this is way in the future…do we still use paper books?

Paige – We appear to, but I’m not buying it.

Cajun Samurai – Maybe I’m crazy, but I thought we would be beyond using paperback books… Brightly colored paperback books at that.

Paige – I kinda want to put TK in a leadership position. I feel like he was always equipped for it, but was too easygoing to fight for a position of power.

Cajun Samurai – Honestly, myself and OtakuAndrain mentioned in the 02 review that it was strange that Tai picked Davis to be the leader of the Digi-Destined even though TK was clearly the better choice–I mean, he had the experience, he was cool and level headed…

Paige – I think he was just too cool, and that was his problem. He was okay with not being leader.

Cajun Samurai – I don’t know what the creators wanted to do with TK. I mean, it just seems like he didn’t do a lot and he was just…there.

Paige – He has so much potential and he’s just constantly outshone by his Digimon. It’s sad! Oh, wait. He DID punch Ken in the face.

Cajun Samurai – Yeah, and I do believe that was the high point of the series for TK. After that, he was not really used effectively. He was just there…in his little stupid “Gilligan Island” hat.

Paige – You know, I’ve never had a problem with that hat until now. You’ve just ruined that hat for me.

Cajun Samurai – Forgive me. But you know as well as I do that was one of the stupidest additions to the character design. And I think TK’s son looks TOO much like him.

Paige – As stupid as Yolei’s ridiculous pants, Or Izzy’s green socks? ATTENTION! THAT WAS A JOKE! DON’T KILL ME, I WAS JUST POKING FUN.

Cajun Samurai – Forgiven! But yeah, the Digital World garments were…well…kinda weird. Except for Cody…his Digi-Garb looked pretty cool!

Paige – Agreed. And TK’s son doesn’t look too much like TK! His hair is slightly longer.

Cajun Samurai – Not that much though…it looks about as long as TK’s was in Season 1…of course, you have to consider the fact that sonny boy isn’t wearing a Hat.

Paige – Okay, that’s a major difference. Do you remember how big that helmet hat was? The fact that it wasn’t passed down proves that they’re two different people. We’re getting off-topic. I think TK should be an inspirational speaker. He’s very self-righteous and I think as long as he doesn’t write his own speeches, he’d be okay.

Cajun Samurai – I would be inclined to agree. I’m listening to the last speech he gave and…Well…let me put it this way, he wouldn’t hack it as an English Dub Writer.

Paige – Yeah, it’s pretty atrocious.

Cajun Samurai – Okay, let’s move away from TK and look at Cody. Cody becomes a defense attorney…which in a way makes sense.

Paige – Oh, saving the big Kari fight for last, huh? Okay, I’ll roll with it. Cody would suck as a lawyer. It makes no sense. We have to help him.

Cajun Samurai – OBJECTION!!! [::Slams hands down on desk::] I think Cody would make a decent Defense Attorney!

Paige – There! Right there! Do you honestly see little mild-mannered Cody yelling at a courtroom and slamming his hands down on a desk? DO YOU???

Cajun Samurai – Well, a lot could happen in 25 years! I’m saying that, considering his background, his father being a part of law enforcement, and his disciplined mind would make him a perfect lawyer. But…if I was to change things up, I would say let him be a Kendo Instructor…since we’ve established him as having a talent for the sport.

Paige – I think he and Submarimon would clean up oil spills and save sea life in their spare time.

Cajun Samurai – Hmm…I would pass that one. That sounds pretty cool.

[And so, Part 2 of our re-evaluation of “Digimon Adventure 02” epilogue has been put in the books! Coming up in the third and final section of our little discussion, we discuss the last four Digi-Destined in our lineup, giving them the epilogues they so richly deserve. We address the enormous Growlmon in the room and discuss Daikari vs Takari, and we also, FINALLY, give Daisuke “Davis” Motomiya a job worth having! Stick around guys, we’re almost done!]

One thought on ““Digimon Adventure 02” Ending Revisited and Remixed [Part 2]

  1. If memory serves me right, there is a Drama CD Released only in Japan where Mimi actually helps first responders at Ground Zero on 9/11. << REALLY? :O

Speak Your Mind...

