The Blogger Interrogation Game!

Well, it seems as though our good friend TWWK over at “Beneath the Tangles” has decided to tag me in a Blogger Interrogation Game from “Sushi GoCart“…this has to be a first for me…and I like it! Anyway, I think I’ll give this a shot…here are the rules:

Introduction

  1. Each person is supposed to follow the rule of fives. You are allowed to ask 5 questions, after which you can tag up to 5 bloggers by hyper-linking to their blog; 5 questions because it’s not too many to flood another blogger and occupy too much of his/her time, but yet a large enough number to ask your most important questions, and 5 bloggers to avoid spamming. Hence, prioritize your questions, and who you wish to ask!
  2. Those tagged are obliged to answer the questions in a blog post, and after which, they are entitled to create their own 5 questions and tag 5 other bloggers, so on and so forth. You should answer your own 5 questions as well. You are allowed to tag the person that tagged you in the first place. Also, copy and paste this section on your blog so others can understand how the game goes.
  3. In the case where a blogger strongly refuses to answer a question, he/she must instead post a nice anime image, wallpaper or cosplay picture, et cetera in response to that question.
  4. To make things interesting, a blogger can include wildcards in his/her 5 questions by placing an asterisk, (*), after which those tagged are obliged to reveal something interesting about themselves that others did not previously know. There is no limit to the number of asterisks one can place (which means there can be up to 5 wildcard questions).
  5. Anyone can feel free to start the game; you don’t necessarily need someone to tag you. Just create your 5 questions and tag your 5 people of choice. However, the catch is that you must answer your own 5 questions as well.
  6. To potentially prevent an endless game, this round of games will end on the 8th September 2012, 12pm JST (GMT +9). After which, no more bloggers can tag others to answer their questions.

Okay. With that out the way, here are the questions and my answers from our tangled friend:

1. What was the last anime that made you think…”WOW”?

Hmm…well that’s an easy one, mostly because I just discovered it on my free trial of “Netflix” [Yes, I know I’m late. Shut up.] “Eden of the East” has absolutely earned my “Wow”. The story [as much of it as I have seen so far] is attention grabbing, relatively fast paced, and very intelligent. I love the characters, and the English dub is expertly written. I just HAVE to buy a copy on DVD so I can have a physical copy to watch whenever I want.

2. Has any anime changed the way you feel about a particular topic or issue?

Let me think for a second…that’s a really good question. I would have to say that “Cowboy Bebop” changed the way I look at anime. For the longest time, I always thought that anime was all about bright and vibrant colors and backgrounds with happy characters that has big eyes, and goofy personalities. Then I found “Bebop” that one night on Adult Swim, and my whole perception changed. I saw that anime could be dark and grimy and that not all endings are happy ones.

3. Do you consider yourself spiritual or religious?  Both?  Neither?  And why?

I would have to say I would classify myself as being spiritual. The reason being is because to say that you’re “religious”, to me anyway, means that you give yourself some kind of title or affiliation. I believe that God’s mercy, protection and kindness surpasses any kind of affiliation or title any one person can associate themselves with. The way I see it, if you have any kind of Faith in God, then you don’t need to give yourself a title or a designation. You can just rejoice and be glad without worrying about what to call yourself.

4. What’s been your favorite series/movie you’ve watched this year (anime or otherwise)?

…you honestly expect me to pick ONE?! Have you not read my glowing review of the Spring 2012 season?! Do you know how hard it is?! Ugh…you’re killing me, dude. In any case… for me it’s a three-way tie between “Kids on the Slope” [“Sakamichi no Apollon”], “Mysterious Girlfriend X” [“Nazo no Kanojo X”], and “Space Brothers” [“Uchū Kyōdai”]. “Kids on the Slope” because I love the overall feel of the series. I love that it’s set in a past time frame, I love the complex characters and their relationships, I love the music throughout the series, and I really love how it ended. “Mysterious Girlfriend X” gets a nod because, well, who doesn’t love a good old-fashioned love story? And the unique aspect of using the saliva as their emotional bond is, to say the very least, unique. Lastly, “Space Brothers” gets my approval because, well, it’s awesome–I don’t know what else to tell you! It’s a well thought out story with interesting characters and situations that keep me coming back week after week.

5. If you were given the resources to create an anime series, what kind of show would it be?  What would the story be about?

Good question! I would love to do an apocalyptic story. Some major catastrophe occurs where the major powers of the world have finally launched their destructive weaponry and severely decimated one another. The world’s population has nose-dived leaving only about three or four million people alive. Two such people are our main protagonists, a high school boy and a high school girl. They found a way to take shelter away from the destruction though various circumstances, and when they emerge, they find that they are the only ones left alive. When the two encounter one another, it turns out they’re from the same school and they really can’t stand one another due to a whole bunch of misunderstandings from before the blast. Overtime, they come to clarify the misunderstandings that kept them apart, and then come to realize that they actually really love each other. And so, as a couple, they venture off, trying to find any other survivors and to find a place where they can stay. Throughout the series, the group would encounter different survivors who would tell their story and possibly join up with our group. I know, it sounds weird right? An apocalyptic “slice of life” story? But hey, it’s unique!

Okay, that being said, I now have to come up with my own five questions. Hmm…let’s see..

  1. Have you ever had a moment in your life that reminded you of a certain scene or episode from an anime? If so, what was it?
  2. If you could describe yourself using an anime stereotype [Tsundre, Yandere, Emo, etc…] which would you pick and why?
  3. If you could spend one day with an anime voice actor, either in America or Japan, who would it be and what would you do?
  4. If you could spend the entire day in the real world as an anime character, who would it be and why?
  5. Which anime character has the coolest socks? [And yes, I’m reaching. Leave me alone.]

And it looks like I’ll have to answer these myself, so here we go!

  1. There was this time when I was talking with one of my coworkers about an old Soul song that I really liked, I think it was by Otis Redding. And I kept trying to explain the song to them, but my coworkers didn’t know what I was talking about. So I turned to my manager and I told her about the same song and she knew what it was right away! That reminds me of the “Timotei” scene from “Lucky Star”.
  2. The anime stereotype I best fit with has to be…the otaku, duh! Think Sasahara from “Genshiken”. If there’s one character I closely relate with, that would be him! The kind of “Closet Otaku” who is shy when it comes to talking about his love of anime with others outside his circle.
  3. Man, this one is difficult. It’s a tossup, but at the end of the day, I would like to spend the day with Greg Ayres. Not only is he a cool voice actor, but he’s also a FAN! It doesn’t get much cooler than that. As for where we would go…hmm…anime shops are few and far between here in Louisiana, so going out to Houston wouldn’t be a bad way to spend the day!
  4. I would LOVE to spend the day as Kyoya from “Ouran High School Host Club”. To be that cool and have that many connections to get stuff done, and to be THAT filthy rich, even for one day, would be ideal!
  5. It always comes back to the socks for me. Heh. I’m weird like that. In any case, favorite socks has got to go to Koushiro “Izzy” Izumi from “Digimon Adventure”. Green, floppy and all around cool. The inspiration for many a screen name and fan fiction story title. Heh.

Now it’s MY turn to play “Tag”. Since the rules say I can re-tag and turnabout IS fair play…

18 thoughts on “The Blogger Interrogation Game!

    1. Thanks a lot! I got the Snoopy plushie from a good friend of mine for Christmas. It came with an awesome “Peanuts” mug and if I recall right, it also came with hot chocolate mix. The Cup of Awesome now resides in the kitchen, tucked neatly away in a shelf.

  1. *has the Eden of the East DVD set lying on his shelf* *has yet to watch it* Man my time management sucks :/

    Er, so far the only “wow” anime for me has been Usagi Drop. Penguindrum’s close though.

    1. Ugh… The Usagi Drop manga RUINED that series for me… *head shake* DO NOT READ THAT MANGA! The Anime will suffice. Trust me…

    1. Thanks! My young nephew actually bought it for me, bless his little heart. He saw that I liked it so when we were in the mall one day, he said “I’m gonna buy this for you!” I said “No, no! Don’t worry about it! Save your money!” But he went ahead and got it. Of course, I reciprocated getting him a few posters.

  2. I got tagged by TWWK and I wanted to see other responses among the bloggers he tagged. Seeing your answer to number four makes me feel on the outside of the anime circle…as I usually am. It really reenforces my need to continue blogging to make my view heard because those three anime don’t register anywhere on my radar. =P To each his own of course.

  3. Oy… Teme! I only know SOME of the people you know! I’m not gonna double or triple tag them! That’s just rude! Yare yare. I’ll step out of this little game

Speak Your Mind...

