Updates to the Anime DVD Bayou!

Hey guys! Samurai here! I was thinking that its been a long time since I updated you guys on what I got in my anime collection. It was something I started earlier but fell really behind on. So, with my camera [phone…] in hand, I decided to show off the new jewels of my collection while giving mini-reviews! With that being said, I welcome you into my personal anime bayou! 

1. “Soul Hunter” Complete Collection – Remember back almost a year ago when I told you that I found a great cache of used anime DVD’s at  Grand Cinema Station video store here in town? Well, It just so happened that this Complete Collection was one of the last DVD’s I was able to grab before they shut down. I haven’t had the chance to get beyond a few episodes, what with work and other shows taking up my time, but from what I’ve seen it looks like a fantasy story. One of these days I’ll have to give it a proper view and review, but suffice it to say, this is the wild-card of my collection–and for seventeen bucks, I couldn’t well pass it up.

2. Osamu Tezuka’s “Phoenix” Complete Collection – I grabbed this one from FYE for the low-low price of about $20 on sale during an Animania event. [For those of you who are not familiar, FYE puts on what can be only described as a budgetary anime convention/meetup where people get together, play trivia, dress in cosplay, and pretty much have a good time. Also, FYE gives a percentage discount for all anime-related things in store. It’s great for people like me who work strange hours and don’t have time or funds to go to an anime convention and it’s an awesome opportunity to meet other fans and share the love…it’s all about the love, baby…] Admittedly, I not quite versed on Tezuka-sama’s work as I feel I should be, save for “Metropolis” and a passing aquaintance with “Cyborg 009”. It’s only thirteen episodes, but I have to admit, when it watched it, it felt like it was quite longer. It’s an interesting set of stories, connected by with what has been described by others as a hyper space chicken known as a phoenix. Not quite “Harry Potter”, but it works. The animation is…well…unique. I can’t quite articulate it, but if this were any other anime from any other creator, I would seriously question the mental state of the animation staff. But, as this is Tezuka-sama’s style and he’s the only one that can get away with it. I’ll give it a pass. I really have to find a time to sit down and give this one a good review.

3. “Full Metal Panic: Fumoffu!” S.A.V.E Complete Collection – Ah, Funimation Entertainment”…you know how to capture my heart and my wallet. A good friend of mine gave me a tip that Funimation was running a sale on some of their DVD’s, so I ran to the website and plucked up this comedic classic as quickly as I could and grabbed this one for $10. The only problem is that the standard shipping was SO…FREAKING…SLOW…Seriously, it took almost two or three weeks before I finally got my hands on it. I had already seen “FMP: Fumoffu” once on loan from the library, so I already know how hilarious it is. As for the dub work, well, it’s one of then-ADV Films best works with a classic cast of actors. For being such a short series, it packs a lot of laughs. A review will be forthcoming of course…unless OtakuAndrain beats me to it as he’s a much bigger “FMP” fan than I. Personally, I never really got into the original “Full Metal Panic!” series except “Fumoffu”. Perhaps that’s something I will rectify in the near future.

4. “Air TV” S.A.V.E Complete Collection – I grabbed this one for approximately $10 from WalMart using their absolutely awesome “Site-To-Store” service to save on shipping charges. I used this set for my “Air” review during “Risembool Ranger” month, so my feelings on the series can be found there. This is another Funimation license pick-up from then-ADV Films as I mentioned back in an earlier post. Their loss, fans gain, I guess. “Air” is a heart wrenching yet perfectly done drama series, and if you’re going to invest in it, I also recommend that you invest in a box or seven of Kleenex.

5. “Axis Powers Hetalia” Season Four – I got this one recently from Best Buy rather recently when I found my budget sufficient enough to splurge a bit. After all, when you collect seasons 1-3, it’s only natural that you keep up the pattern, right? RIGHT??! In any case, “Hetalia” is a guilty pleasure anime in my books–something that I can watch if I just want  a good laugh without being deluged by things like, oh, let me think, PLOT. Each episode is only about 5 minutes long, so don’t go looking for any long epics here. “Hetalia” is here for one thing and one thing only–to make the viewer laugh hysterically–especially if you’re watching it in the English. Is it historically accurate? Maybe not, but it is HYSTERICALLY accurate.

6. “Kodocha” Season 2 S.A.V.E Collection – Okay, so I didn’t take a COMPLETE vacation in June…I did a bit of blog-related work while I was in the Lone Star State. I picked this one up at Fry’s Electronics in Dallas, TX for about $25. I consider this a good investment as this set is pretty much a re-release of the original “Kodocha” DVD’s in a new pack. I consider it even more of a wise investment in that Funimation will be halting production on, among other series, “Kodocha”. I am completely enamored with this series–it is by far one of my top 10. All the characters are loveable and fun, and it strikes the PERFECT balance between drama and comedy. It gives you ENOUGH drama that puts you to the brink and makes the story interesting, but it dilutes it with comedy before it gets overwhelming. If I can’t review this series by the end of this year, then dawg-gone it, I will review it early next year!

7. “Trigun” Complete Collection – This one was another “Best Buy” pickup when the budget looked decent and I have to say, it was a good $37-40 investment. Not only did I get one of the most awesome animated series around, but I got the remastered, super-duper picture and sound version! I’ve already touched on this series last month, so check out the review if you haven’t already, but suffice it to say, if you are looking for a great series with action, adventure, and more than a little dash of comedy, then “Trigun” is right up your doughnut-munching, skirt chasing alley.

8. “Bamboo Blade” S.A.V.E Complete Collection – This one I’ve had my eye on for quite a while. Having watched the series on loan from the library, I found myself enamored with this kendo club of kawaii and coolness. While I’m not 100% on board with sports based series [Myself not being athletically inclined to any believable degree…], I have to admit, I truly enjoyed “Bamboo Blade”, it’s characters, and the story that it told. And because the budget allowed for a little flexability this month, I figured I would go ahead and make the investment. Imagine my shock when, as I was being checked out at FYE, the series was actually marked down LOWER than the $29.99 pricetag [Which was ABSURD to begin with…] which was a shock to even the cashier who just shrugged and said, “You’re getting a good deal–that’ll be $16.” Say WHA?!?! Immediately, I held up one finger, said “Could you hold onto that for just ONE SECOND…thanks…” and sprinted [quite literally] to the anime section of the store, pulled another green-spined DVD off the shelf and raced back to the register. To my shock, it too was marked down to $16. So for the price of one Complete Collection, I got two really good series. What was the second one you ask?

9. “The Wallflower” S.A.V.E Complete Collection – …don’t give me that look. It’s a Nabeshin anime, and you know what a sucker I am for Nabeshin-directed series…well, all except for one series…but we’ll get into THAT one later. Oh yes, we will. In any case, “The Wallflower” was a series that I had originally started collecting individually, but was unable to find the remaining volumes I needed to complete the set…until that day when I went into FYE. “The Wallflower” is your typical Nabeshin series–episode after episode of insanity which only begins to make sense towards the last handful of episodes. It’s a reverse-harem situation which, to me anyway, is always interesting. Aside from the disconcerting opening sequence which features our main cast of bishounen [Pretty boys…] looking naked up at the moon [All appropriate bits covered, thankfully…] it’s actually a very funny and well done series. Expect a review of this one coming soon.

10. Nintendo DSi XL  – I know, I know, it’s not an anime! But dawg gone it, I just had to mention it! I got it on sale at “Best Buy” and since then, I’ve been playing lots of different and fun games. Now I know what you’re going to say: “Samurai, why didn’t you get the 3DS or the new 3DS XL model?” Well, two reasons; #1, I ain’t made of money and at the time I only had enough for the DSi XL, and #2, my eyes don’t do that well with 3D like in movies. I can see it okay, but after a few minutes, my eyes start hurting. Now, I KNOW you can turn the 3D mode off, but the way I see it, why would I pay XYZ amount of money for a feature that nine times out of ten I’m not going to use? Besides, I love the large size of the device itself along with its wide and bright screens. Miles Edgeworth never looked cooler. And, yes, that IS Eureka, Maurice, Linck, Mater and Renton from “Eureka Seven” as my wallpaper. Remember when “Eureka Seven” was uncomplicated? Ahh, those were the days…

And so, that’s it for my little collection update! I can honestly say, I feel my anime collection is at about 95% completion–there are a few more series that I WANT to get and/or complete, but for the most part, if I was never able to buy anime DVD’s again, I would be satisfied with where my collection is now…unless some kind-hearted soul would be interested in DONATING the new “Digmon” Season 1 box set to the blog…hint-hint….

Speak Your Mind...

