A Tri-Team Review of “Digimon Adventure” – Digi-Destiny Revisited (Part 3)

“Junk. Stuff. More junk. More stuff. Man, I was a messy kid!”
—Taichi Kamiya “Digimon Adventure”

 
[Okay guys, welcome to Part 3 of our Tri-Team Review of “Digimon Adventure”. Once again, I would like to remind you guys that our guest reviewer, Lord Patamon is from Mexico, so English is not his first language. As such, some of his dialogue may seem confusing. Rather than edit it, I’m leaving his words as they are, just as though we were having a vocal conversation. That being said, please enjoy Part 3!]

Animation

OtakuAndrain – This Anime is old… really… really old. It shows, and watching it as we speak I’m noticing some things. I’m noticing Toei’s habit of abusing stock footage.

Lord Patamon – Guess they like to save money and time and what better way to do that than to use stock footage?

OtakuAndrain – We’re talking about the people who made Dragon Ball, LP… Not mention the Sentai series and Kaman Rider. They have plenty of money but they are known to pull that kind of stuff.

Lord Patamon – My friend, the fact they have plenty of money, doesn’t means they want to spend it. However using stock footage is the oldest trick of the book, it is rare the studio which doesn’t pulls that move.

Cajun Samurai – I’m watching it as well, and I agree that this first season does suffer somewhat in the animation department, especially in the beginning. However, it’s not BAD…it suffers from inconsistencies…many inconsistencies, but for a show geared for kids who are going to be paying more attention to the action sequences than backgrounds and art styles, it does the job. Now…here’s a question regarding character designs– Why do all the older characters wear gloves?

Lord Patamon – Now that’s a good question. Just as a good question also is why all the leaders [except for one] use goggles.

Cajun Samurai – And it makes them stand apart from the others–Kinda like a rank insignia on a uniform; it’s a way of identifying at a glance who is the leader.

Lord Patamon – However they kinda forgot that detail on the 5th season [::chuckles::] about the gloves I really don’t know. Must be a fashion thing I guess…

OtakuAndrain – Well that’s just a character trait. It’s something they decided to do. Gloves well, I have no idea I don’t do fashion.

Cajun Samurai – While I can kind of understand the boys wearing them, and by extension Sora because she’s our resident Tomboy, but what’s the point of Mimi wearing them? Or IZZY for that matter–who TYPES…ON A COMPUTER… And not just ANY computer…A LAPTOP…

Lord Patamon – Maybe Izzy wears them to not leave fingerprints on his valuable laptop?

OtakuAndrain – Every time you try to apply real life reasoning to Anime God kills a Cat Girl. Please think of the cat girls.

Cajun Samurai – Noted. Thanks Andrain…

Lord Patamon – Anyhow, plot holes. As far I try to remember, the first season had no noticeable plot holes. Correct me if I’m wrong.

OtakuAndrain – Well it was a lot better in the case of not leaving perfectly interesting plot points hanging out there…

Cajun Samurai – With regards to animation, I don’t think the plot was affected by it LP. So, what did you guys think about the animation used for the digimon, proper?

Lord Patamon – I did like the animation used for the digimon. I do admit it had some flaws here and there, but all in all I liked it.

Cajun Samurai – The digimon animation was very nice. I have to admit, I have two favorite digmon designs–Gomamon and Gabumon.

OtakuAndrain – The CG they used for the later evolutions was kinda cool and has that retro feel these days that CG doesn’t have anymore

Cajun Samurai – Agreed. Okay, let’s score this one out! This time, each of us are alloted 4.1 points! Andrain, lead us off.

OtakuAndrain – 3.1 I don’t care if it’s for kids from a critical standpoint I’m watching them skip frames at places. There’s laziness and I’m calling them on it.

Cajun Samurai – Lord Patamon? Your scores.

Lord Patamon – I say 3.0. I agree with Andrain. The fact that it is for kids, it doesn’t means the animation can’t be better. And you won’t believe what you can find when you take screenshots of the series at an exact timeframe. Long ago on a forum someone posted interesting screenshots from season 1, one of the got my attention because it showed Biyomon…. with two beaks! Add to that some missing colors in some of the characters and other tiny details

Cajun Samurai – Okay, my turn. Sadly, I will have to draw blood from this category as well. There are inconsistencies in the animation that just can’t be overlooked. Only towards the end it seems does it start to look uniform and nice. Character designs are iconic and awesome, though I still question what in the world happened to Izzy’s shoes when he snuck back into his house after the battle in Odabia. Ah well. 3/4.1

Cajun Samurai Score – 3/4.1
Otaku Andrain Score – 3.1/4.1
Lord Patamon Score – 3/4.1

Music

OtakuAndrain – The Dub didn’t do music bad. The OP was a techno tune that fit the series and, let’s face it, it’s a legend here in the states.

Lord Patamon – Well since where I live we didn’t got that music except for the dub version called “Digimon: The Movie”, I rather stay with the original music. It kept the Japanese flavor on the dub for Mexico and Latin America.

Cajun Samurai – Agreed. The theme was composed by Paul Gordon, who has worked with his share of musicians like The B-52’s, Prince, Goo Goo Dolls, and my girl Chaka Khan!

OtakuAndrain – Well the battle theme using that oddly upbeat song for when the digimon were kicking butt… fit too in a strange way now that I look back but… well then I heard “Butterfly” and “Brave Heart”.

Cajun Samurai – Oh, for those who don’t know, the original opening for “Digimon Adventure” was a song called “Butterfly” by Koji Wada–a Legend in the Digimon universe as he has composed almost all of the openings for the “Digimon” franchise. Comparing “Butterfly” to “Digimon Theme” is kinda hard, honestly…it’s a matter of personal preference.

OtakuAndrain – I’m gonna agree on that one and you guys know how much I dislike Dubs. The Dub Theme passes muster in my opinion.

Lord Patamon – By the way and about Koji Wada, currently his career is on hold since he is going through a cancer treatment, my best wishes for him, hope he recovers.

OtakuAndrain – Thanks for the Intel! This is why we brought him in folks. Explains Season 7…

Cajun Samurai – Indeed; it is our hope that he recovers as well. He is a brilliant singer and the world of Digimon wouldn’t be the same without him.

OtakuAndrain – Trust me… You don’t know how true that is…

Lord Patamon – Exactly; Season 6 was the last one in which Koji Wada took part in singing.

Cajun Samurai – Now, the one thing that I really, REALLY wish they had kept from the original Japanese was the ending credits… In the US, we really didn’t get any ending sequence–just a screen that showed credits on one side and a promo for the next show on the other.

OtakuAndrain – Both “I Wish” and “Keep On” were fantastic endings.

Cajun Samurai – However, it should be noted that the creators did use part of the “Keep On” Ending for the opening of the 2nd half of the series.

Lord Patamon – Yeah, for the dub in Mexico we got “Butterfly” and “I Wish” with Spanish lyrics. However the digi-volution songs remained in Japanese. Here is another interesting thing that happened with the fifth season’s dub for Mexico and Latin America. That dub like the other 4 seasons came with the original songs with Spanish lyrics. But if you had a cable box that allowed audio language selection and put the language to English, you could hear the opening and ending in Japanese. It made you feel like if you were watching the Japanese version even if it was just the opening and ending since for the episodes themselves with English audio option you heard the English dub.

Cajun Samurai – That is…quite unusual.

OtakuAndrain – Well the fifth season was all jacked up to start with…

Lord Patamon – Yeah, is just that the 5th season Spanish dub got dubbed from the English one [::cough::] Citrusmon [::cough::]

OtakuAndrain – Please… still in a good mood. And yet it’s STILL better then Season 7…

Cajun Samurai – Okay, okay…let’s stick with “Digimon Adventure” if you please. Lord Patamon, start us off.

Lord Patamon – Okay! On music I give the 4.1. While I’m not much a fan of the English dub music, I must confess I like the song “Kick It Up”. All in all the music does fulfills its objective. My only but for the US dub would be the music score, I like better the Japanese score.

Cajun Samurai – Understandable…but if memory serves, wasn’t “Kick it Up” Used in Season 02 only?

Lord Patamon – Yeah, well I heard it on “Digimon: The Movie”

Cajun Samurai – OtakuAndrain, your scores good sir?

OtakuAndrain – 4.1 The Dub magically makes it happen for me. The Music just plain works even after I heard the original Japanese. I feel they’re both equally valid.

Cajun Samurai – Right, right. Well, in my book, the music gets full marks. Paul Gordon is to the English dub as Koji Wada is to the Japanese. It hits in all the right places. 4.1/4.1

Cajun Samurai Score – 4.1/4.1
Otaku Andrain Score – 4.1/4.1
Lord Patamon Score – 4.1/4.1

[Okay! And that’s the end of Part 3! Coming up next, our grand finale! We go behind the scenes and discuss Performances and Production in “Digimon Adventure”. We bring up some familiar and not so familiar names, and we also discuss how the dubbing was handled in other countries! Also, though heaven only knows how, “Naruto” and “Evangelion” get mentioned as well! We also tally up all our scores and find out once and for all if “Digimon Adventure” still shines by 2012 standards! All that’s coming up!]

2 thoughts on “A Tri-Team Review of “Digimon Adventure” – Digi-Destiny Revisited (Part 3)

  1. The characters in the Digimon series who ware goggles, except for that one, indicate the Courage crest in the group. I know after the first two sessions crest are never talked about again (well, maybe in 7, but that really does not count), but even so, you can still figure out what crest a character has in any session with little debate, it is just many of the other characters in other seasons are doable crested. For instance, (please pardon the selling >///<) Takato is a Courage Hope, Henry is a Friendship Reliability, and Kira is a Light Sincerity.
    The goggles are like the mark of Courage, the ones in the end despite the fear in their hearts, will be the ones to dive head long into oblivion to save, well, everyone. 🙂

Speak Your Mind...

