Cajun Samurai and OtakuAndrain’s Favorite (And Not So Favorite) Opening/Closing Themes! (Part II)

[To see the beginning of our conversation, check out Part I here! And now, the continuation…]

 

OtakuAndrain – Now I’m gona do something a little different… Lets look at what you shouldn’t do.

Cajun Samurai – In the words of George Takei…”Ohhhh My…”

OtakuAndrain – [::Cracks his knuckles::] Bear with me everyone, its time to summon up some Childhood Nightmares.

Cajun Samurai –  And some adult ones as well…

 

OtakuAndrain – Let’s start with one of the Classics…. First of all I’ll give the Original OP and show you all what it was reduced to by the Americans. So Here’s Cardcaptor Sakura… Gah …do we all remember how bad this show Ripped to shreds. Here’s it’s first Opening “Catch You, Catch Me”. [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=eI99Wjba8H4]

 Cajun Samurai – One of the grandmothers of magical girls… It’s a very upbeat song, with nice visuals…

OtakuAndrain –Of course… it’s massive popularity… after a face lift…. of EPIC proportions [::stares At Tomoyo/Madison::] got this Cutesy Girlish opening and turned it into an Action series! [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W6-vS4aj-Zo]

Cajun Samurai – Yeah…I remember reading that they were actually trying to make the show less female oriented by adding more scenes of boys fighting in it.

OtakuAndrain – Li was made into something WAY Too important… look at the OP; there’s definitely more Li-kun there.

Cajun Samurai – Admittedly, it was one of the reasons why I never gave this show much time back in the jump. I thought it was just another action show…

OtakuAndrain – You’re up… Though I could do this all night

Cajun Samurai – One other thing I should point out is the fact that the song and the cutting is probably the worst I’ve seen in an anime opening… The opening chant of the different cards…umm…what’s that about?  

OtakuAndrain – Be pretty awesome… if this was about the dang cards…

Cajun Samurai – “Wind, Rain, Shadow, Wood, Sword, Thunder, Power, Sleep” Umm…something seems so disorganized about this…

OtakuAndrain – Honestly This show isn’t about the cards. This Show isn’t about Li-kun. This is about Sakura getting dressed up by her ‘friend.’

Cajun Samurai –  Not if you believe this opening. Looks like a show about a boy fighting with a sword…and it sounds like somebody was trying to cash in on the lucrative Toy/Anime market that was popular back in the day. Kind of like my next submission…Back in the late 90’s, early 2000’s, there was a “MON” Battle between three shows; Digimon, Pokemon and a third contender known as “Monster Farmer”…or released in the US as “Monster Rancher”.

OtakuAndrain – Grkkkk…

Cajun Samurai – “Grkkkk…” indeed. The show was already a clear marketing ploy for video games and the like, but admittedly, it had a great opening…in fact, it was TV Ready, save for the Japanese text…[http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PhflMl8kXoY]

OtakuAndrain – I get that feeling of epic adventure. That epic Combat, alas I didn’t see as much of this show as I should have [thanks to Fox kids seeming to show only one episode…]

Cajun Samurai – But when the show was slated for a US Release, the licensors said “Meh, not exciting enough! Let’s change it up a bit! And, oh yeah, lets change out that dumb song! Kids want guitars and sound machines!”

OtakuAndrain – And hip hop! Don’t forget the hip hop!

Cajun Samurai – I was trying to… The end result…was this…[http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dgVJHjwul90]

OtakuAndrain – My favorite part is the Dubbers think… These songs always do one thing… Explain the plot.

Cajun Samurai – I suppose they were going along the lines of “We won’t be able to capture their attention unless we tell them what the show is about up front!” In addition, they wanted to show the fact that this was a video game that Genki [boy with the orange hat] fell into…there’s a lot more Game imagery in this new version than the original.

OtakuAndrain – Oh hell yeah… I’m guessing watching this you don’t worry about such minor things?

Cajun Samurai – …I try not to watch this if I can help it. Though I know it will come up for review in the far future.

OtakuAndrain – Alright… let’s step back a moment… Sometimes they’re almost passable.

Cajun Samurai – But because I’m not much of a gamer [Heck, “Super Mario World” still gives me a thrill], it didn’t have a strong affect on me. Now to young, sugar hyped kids back in the 90’s…this was prime parental fodder. Oh, and one other thing I wanted to mention… Note that the English version drastically cut back Holly’s screen time. They focus more on the male lead…

OtakuAndrain – Of course they do…

Cajun Samurai – They even cut out the little pink monster Mochi because, of course, a girl CAN’T POSSIBLY hold her on in a series… And as we all know, pink IS a girls color after all. This is an example of subtile sexism…

OtakuAndrain – Alright… let’s step back a moment… Sometimes they’re almost passable. Like I said we can both go on this forever.

Cajun Samurai – Heh. This is already going to be a multi-parter…

OtakuAndrain – But I think, Audience considered “Shaman King” did ok in its English form. Let’s take a look a Japanese OP 1; Megumi Hayashibara’s “Oversoul” [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=O-ri67nop10]

Cajun Samurai – Ah Megumi-san…you always take my socks and rock them…

OtakuAndrain – Not gonna lie… That was plain awesome… But hear the English version. [http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=endscreen&NR=1&v=8qLl145FqQg] I think for Americans They did this ok. Lyrics didn’t explain the plot away Music was reasonable I felt a Spiritual Vibe from it.

Cajun Samurai – Yeah… It’s every bit the spiritual successor to the original. The visuals are different, but the feel is really excellent.

OtakuAndrain – I’ve seen the whole series and I got the same feeling out of it

Cajun Samurai – One thing though that this show does in it’s English version that kind of annoys me is the fact that they feel the need to put the name of the show in the theme.

OtakuAndrain – They’ve done that in Japan on Occasion, this is American I’ll let that go

Cajun Samurai – Yeah, I feel ya. But it just seems redundant to me and it kinda sticks out like a very sore, bruised thumb. I mean, I know I’m watching “Shaman King”…you don’t have to keep reinforcing the fact.

OtakuAndrain – Alright gimmie one before I take the big one…

Cajun Samurai – Well…this one comes from our good friends over at Funimation. Much can be said about the earlier versions of Dragonball Z theme songs…heaven knows I can’t get Rock the Dragon out my head…tragically…

OtakuAndrain – Uh-huh…

Cajun Samurai – But this one is actually a comparison for the ENGLISH version of the latest release of Dragonball Z called “Dragonball Z Kai”. Here’s the original Japanese… It’s called “Dragon Soul”… [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=uxNqi2vGPz4]

OtakuAndrain – Holy Crap… This takes me back… I feel like I’m in the 90s again… THIS IS THE SONG OF MEN!

Cajun Samurai – …so help me, if the next words out of your mouth is “It’s Morphing Time!” then you’re fired…And if that’s the song of men, then this one is for the girls..the fangirls, that is. [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dWCyC2uxlCY] 

OtakuAndrain – [::blinks::]

Cajun Samurai – I know, right?

OtakuAndrain – Ano… This is the same song… to the same music

Cajun Samurai – One thing Funimation does is that when they remix a song, 99% of the time, they keep the feeling and emotion of the original.

OtakuAndrain – Isn’t it? Yeah… I guess… they kinda failed this time… but…

Cajun Samurai – I digress…I think this version stays true to the original Japanese.

OtakuAndrain – Oh, Ok! Gezz don’t do that to me! Phew! Faith in Finumation restored!

Cajun Samurai – Since Funimation is now one of the top licensors in the US, it stands to reason that they feel the need to bring a higher-quality product to the table. And since this product was going to make a US TV debut with the eyes of anime fans young and old watching, they had to make the new theme good. So they got…HIM…to do it.

OtakuAndrain – Mm-hmm…

Cajun Samurai – This isn’t his first rodeo with regards to performing anime songs though. Vic Mignogna has also done a cover of DNAngel’s opening song “White Night True Light”… And don’t get me started with “Fullmetal Alchemist”–

OtakuAndrain – Hey, hey! You’re doing two in a row… oh well that’s ok… I still gotta set up here…

Cajun Samurai – Oh, sorry. After you!

OtakuAndrain – We’ll be turning back the clock a little bit. Dragon Ball Z was what pulled boys into Anime no Question…

Cajun Samurai – You can say that again.

OtakuAndrain – But, as everyone knows, Girls are Otaku too… What pulled the American Girl into this world?

Cajun Samurai – A girl who was fighting evil by moonlight, winning love by daylight, with an opening theme that turned my stomach by mid-afternoon?

OtakuAndrain – [::The sounds of clicking by thousands of Guns, Magic users, and primed explosives tick::] Yeah that’s the one…

Cajun Samurai – Oh, have mercy…I thought you checked the place for explosives!

OtakuAndrain – Oh, these are mine.

Cajun Samurai – Ohh….I thought your pants were a little baggier than normal.

OtakuAndrain – The Gundams, Veritechs, Mobile Suits, Medaduces and all these lovely people are here to help me express my anger.

Cajun Samurai – Hey…Is that my Jeep!? Who said you can use my truck without my permission!? Once your anger is appropriately expressed, you had better fill the tank!

OtakuAndrain – Oh I forgot, the Nightmare Frames. My Bad Zero! Here’s Sailor Moon’s First Op in Japan the Eternal Classic, Moonlight Denestu. [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=olgIErMZRJU]

Cajun Samurai – …And once again, our lead character feels the need to run…

OtakuAndrain – This is an Action Anime, Quiet you. But You Guys see this? This is what a Dub can do to a guy. I’m Surprised he hasn’t noticed the most important point yet?

Cajun Samurai –  …Humor me.

OtakuAndrain –  …The English opening. [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=X6_RZhh44NY]

Cajun Samurai – Right off the bat–Star Wars rip-off!

OtakuAndrain – Listen for the Music!

Cajun Samurai – It’s the same music, different lyrics…

OtakuAndrain – They took a Beautiful love song and REDUCED IT TO THIS! WHY, WHY, WHY, WHY?!

Cajun Samurai – Your guess is as good as mine. I suppose when they’re trying to market a show to a female audience, they wanted to solidify that fact–

OtakuAndrain – NO! No, that was Criminal! It’s a beautiful song they wrecked! Half the Time I hear it, The Lyrics go in English in my head! It’s UNFORGIVABLE [::Gasps::]

Cajun Samurai – The lyrics kind of reinforce the fact that the main female lead is ditzy and boy-crazy… I just have a problem with the “Winning love by daylight”–

OtakuAndrain – USAGI DOESN’T GET CRAP UNTIL LATER! AND SHE’S FIGHTING WITH HER DAUGHTER WHO HAS A… Whoops let’s not go there [::coughs, breathes::] Let’s not ruin any dreams now…

Cajun Samurai – It sounds very much like “Baby Sitters Club”…”She will never turn her back on her friends…” Uhh, yeah, one would think not…

OtakuAndrain – Neptune and Uruanus are Lesbian cousins… I mean what?

Cajun Samurai – Dude this was pre-Ellen 90’s.

OtakuAndrain – Don’t make me go further…

Cajun Samurai – Well, let’s go opposites for a moment and talk about a show that…for all intents and purposes was a diaster…but still had a pretty stirring opening for me. Here’s “Zion (Aim to the Stars of your Dreams!)” from Pilot Candidate. [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CuNToaNBb1s]

OtakuAndrain – Not bad…

Cajun Samurai – Oh boy…I could go into a long, long, LONG rant about this show…from it’s Evangelion-Rip-off plot to its HORRENDOUS dubbing, but the one shining aspect of this show is this very well done orchestrial piece showing our main character, Zero, RUNNING to his destiny… Again with the running…

OtakuAndrain – It’s Very impactful…

Cajun Samurai – Agreed. And it’s the closest thing to an ending this series gets. When I hear the first few chords, I’m once again transported back in time, sitting on my bed watching Adult Swim. One thing I always wondered though…how in the heck does Zero run in those clodhopper shoes? But in any case, we are also given a first look at the Eva–I mean Goddesses in this opening…

OtakuAndrain – It’s probably how Cure… Nope! I promised myself I wouldn’t go there for the betterment of you people.

Cajun Samurai – Oh come on…it’s going to eat at you unless you let it out.

OtakuAndrain – Nope best not… I’ll give you Hamtaro Instead! [http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r7Ps8UlaU8Y]

Cajun Samurai – …you do know I have to kill you right?

OtakuAndrain – Haiiiii…

Cajun Samurai – [::Draws his Katana::] You…just HAD to go there, didn’t you? For the better part of six years I’ve worked to expel that song from my mind…

OtakuAndrain – Ara ara…

Cajun Samurai – HAMTARO…the abomination to end all abominations with regards to theme songs…

OtakuAndrain – Awww, it fits…and its catchy…

Cajun Samurai – Hamtaro…REALLY…

OtakuAndrain – You forced my hand, old friend.

[Keep on the Lookout for Part III!]

3 thoughts on “Cajun Samurai and OtakuAndrain’s Favorite (And Not So Favorite) Opening/Closing Themes! (Part II)

  1. How’s the availability of Hamtaro? I’m thinking of doing a countdown of kid-friendly anime and I was certainly considering that one, but if it’s hard to come by, I’ll leave it out.

    1. My best sources seem to have the 4 Hamataro Movies Subbed, The Dubbed First season and the Season 1+2 RAWs. Probably gonna have to leave it out.

Speak Your Mind...

