Breaking News – “Star Trek Continues” Project Cast Voice Actors/Mythbusters

Okay, so we all know the original Star Trek TV series, right? Brainchild of the late, great Gene Roddenberry, seventy-nine episodes, six feature films [four really good ones…]* considered by many to be the best science-fiction series of all time? Okay. Now please close your eyes and imagine the following. Tamaki Suoh as Captain Kirk, Kimihiro Watanuki as Mr. Spock, Fraken Stein as Dr. McCoy. Heh. Interesting change-up, is it not? Well, in essence, that is what you got. Announced in the early morning hours today, “Star Trek Continues”, a webseries that will continue the voyages of the good Starship Enterprise, has just announced its cast on Facebook. What does this have to do with anime? Well, in the words of George Takei: “Ohhhhhh, Myyyyy…”

* [The four in question are “Star Trek II: The Wrath of Khan”, “Star Trek III: The Search for Spock”; “Star Trek IV: The Voyage Home” and Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country”. I personally enjoyed “Search for Spock” and thought it was a very well done and thought out movie…unlike “Star Trek V, which had the production value and enjoy-ability as a prostate exam with a medieval mace…] 

Let’s go down the list:

  • Vic Mignogna as Captain Kirk
  • Todd Habberkorn as Mr. Spock
  • Chuck Huber as Dr. McCoy
  • Chris Doohan as Mr Scott “Scotty”
  • Grant Imahara as Hikeru Sulu
  • Kim Stinger as Lt. Uhura
  • Wyatt Lenhart as Ensign Checkov
Okay, I admit to a moment of pause when I first read this announcement. After all, this isn’t just another big anime project we’re talking about here; this is STAR TREK; a show with a long and distinguished history. You can’t just get any old person off the street and expect them to live up to said history. Granted, they LOOK the part, but so do some really good cosplayers. If it’s not treated with the respect and attention to detail that is due, then it will be a catastrophe; thankfully limited to the annals of “Failed Internet Ideas” and never to be spoken of again. However, I got some reassuring words from a VERY unexpected source; [and hopefully next big interview for the blog…], Todd Habberkorn:
Well, honestly, I’m not sure either because it hasn’t happened yet…but if you take the fact that every cast and crew member has extensive experience in production and the entertainment industry, the fact that the sets are being recreated on a 10,000 square foot stage to the exact specifications of the original series, the fact that we’ve got Star Trek actors that have done Star Trek films and television interested, a knowledge base about Star Trek that would make the fiercest Trekkie tremble with fear, and folks that will give 110% – I think we’ve got a good shot at it playing out A-OK. But…I could totally be wrong and this could be the most epic nose dive ever! Who knows?! (I really don’t think its gonna be that latter one 🙂 )
This gave me a shining glimmer of hope. After all, Star Trek is a creature of its own right; always evolving and changing; heck, “Star Trek II” was a major change for the franchise, and look what happened. However, I still had concerns. I mean, William Shatner has this swagger that is often imitated, yet never really duplicated. Could Vic, who is a great actor in his own right [something we will probably touch on later…] play a convincing Kirk? Could Todd pull off the subtle nuances that is Spock? This whole thing left me scratching my head. I seeked the council of the one person who could understand my concern; my own “First Officer”, OtakuAndrain, offered up this piece of wisdom that would make even the staunchest Vulcan arch their brow:
Your unease is logical, yet do not let it cloud your judgement...put it in neutral and give it the 5 episode test. Expand your horizons. 
And so, that is what I intend to do. I will go into this project completely neutral, with the hope and wishes that this project will, indeed, knock my socks off and unify the Otaku/Trekkie fandoms. I’ve signed up for the Official “Star Trek Continues” Facebook updates, so if any more information comes down the pike [nyuk, nyuk…] I will let you know and provide updates. In the meantime, here’s Vic Mignogna as Captain Kirk recreating the epic scene from “The Wrath of Khan”…and as a comparison, here’s William Shatner in the same scene…
18 thoughts on “Breaking News – “Star Trek Continues” Project Cast Voice Actors/Mythbusters

  1. Channeling Edward… pretty interesting way at looking at Kirk but I’m a Star Trek noob, so I couldn’t tell you how that’s gonna tide over. I saw a couple of Episodes and the last big screen movie? Am I allowed to say stuff?

  2. This series is only being made because of a personal vendetta that Vic Mignogna has with james Cawley and the rest of the Star Trek – New Voyages/Phase II production(loosely translated, Mignogna and the Starship Farragut production are doing this out of spite). I’d avoid this like the case of Rigellian Fever.

  3. The info came from the following sources

    http://www.trekbbs.com/showthread.php?p=6187033#post6187033

    http://www.trekbbs.com/showthread.php?t=169732

    http://trekmovie.com/2012/03/26/new-star-trek-fan-film-to-feature-chris-doohan-as-scotty-and-mythbusters-imahara-as-sulu/#comment-4656857

    Like one poster on the trekbbs stated

    “Man…the first time I read about Star Trek Continues, I got a weird feeling about this Vic guy. Looked him up, saw some of his talks, and he really came off as a bit of a ******. Over the last couple of weeks, the more I hear about him only solidifies that initial hunch.”

    This petty infighting is just ridiculous, if not disgusting. It goes against everything that Gene Roddenberry originally envisioned for Star Trek.

    1. I have to admit, this is a lot of information to sort through, and I would love to write an article on it with a text interview from you if at all possible to clarify some things because, I admit, this is the first I’ve heard of a different “Star Trek” Fan project outside of the one I wrote about. Email me at KhakiBlueSocks@gmail.com if you’re interested or just comment here. Thanks!

  4. I appreciate the offer, but, I think the information that I provided speaks for itself and covers pretty much everything. I would recommend talking to those that are closely involved. They would know more. I’m just a fan who follows Star Trek, and who just stumbled across all of this.

    And like many fans, I’m just disgusted by the in-fighting and childish behavior. It makes Bill Shatner’s past antics look pale in comparison.

    Best of luck.

    1. Thank you so much! I really appreciate you providing the information. And if you should happen to change your mind, just let me know! I would love to talk with someone (anyone, really) who knows about these fan projects and this incident to provide a clearer insight to both myself and my readers…few though they may be. 😛 Again, thank you so much!

  5. Here is some additional information about Vic Mignogna and the Star Trek Continues production that you might find interesting.

    http://www.facebook.com/WebisodeReports?ref=ts#!/james.cawley.526/posts/3610339427044

    Pretty much what James Cawley, Alec Peters, Patty Wright, and myself have said about Vic Mignogna is true. It appears that Vic Mignogna has built this Star Trek Continues project out of some personal spite toward James and the rest of the hard working staff at Star Trek-New Voyages/Phase 2. All because he wants to play Jim Kirk, himself. Talk about professional jealousy. Even the Farragut Films(Starship Farragut production)are somehow involved. Whether directly or indirectly, I am not certain.

    I also learned that a couple of production crew members had already quit the STC production because they got sick of Mignogna’s BS. One of them was his make-up artist.

    Vic Mignogna is obviously a liar, thief, swindler, con man, and a few other things that are just downright rotten.

    Anyway, hope this info will help in the research of your article.

    1. Greetings good sir. Thank you so much again for this information. Sadly, I have yet to find time to go through it all what with my vacation and a heck of a lot of other things going on, but PLEASE don’t think I forgot about it! It is a very intriguing topic to be sure and one that I will have to investigate in order to formulate my own theories on it.

      Again, thanks so much! And don’t forget, the offer for an interview is still on the table if you want! 🙂

    2. Wow there…. excuse me a second. This project of theirs might be a tad odd and different, maybe through spite who knows but to go and call him a liar, thief, swindlr and a con man…? No no, that’s harsh to say. I hope you know more about him outside of this new series, because as many times as I’ve seen him around places like Anime Conventions, he is anything but a con man or anything like that. He is a generous christian, he loves his fans, helps people out a lot, gives stuff to people to help. Along with other wonderful things.

      If you are basing him off all this small information pertaining to just this new stuff, please. Learn to mature a bit about it okay? I can understand what you people are saying but to down right state he is an rotten man, is like saying everyone in the world is gay. You don’t judge someone by one thing, get to know who the person really is… seriously, please grow up.

  6. Victoria, I have spoken with various people who have had dealings with him, and most of the conversations I have had concerning him have been quite negative. I do not base things on small information. I base things on big information, gather all of the facts, sift through them, then implement my conclusions thereafter.

    And these are the results. His charm is basically a smoke screen and as far as his character being that of a generous Christian is concerned, I’m afraid that is debatable. Especially in light of what happened this past April and why he is not welcomed at many conventions.

    His involvement in various film projects has been a way for him to take them over for his own purposes and push the original creator out of the light. Hence why he has been referred to as ‘The Doomsday Machine of Fan Films’. If he takes an artistic interest in someone’s project, that project and its creator are in trouble.

    I’m also basing this on an ‘indirect’ action caused by him, that both disrupted and nearly ruined some plans on a Star Trek project that was in the planning stages almost a year past.

    Honestly, I would not trust this man as far as I could throw him. Same goes for the people at Farragut Films who have made the foolish mistake in having him as a business partner. By associating themselves with him, they have already further tarnished their reputation, and allowed his stink to permeate something that was once cool.

    John Broughton, Michael Bednar, and the rest of the Starship Farragut production personnel would have been better off not having him on board. Sadly, they will learn the hard way.

    And that is not a cool thing.

  7. I heard that Jack Marshall and three other people have left the Star Trek Continues production due to some artistic disputes and differences between them and Vic Mignogna. Supposedly, they were also fed up with Mignogna’s antics and other forms of unprofessionalism. The result of this has led to the production being delayed until December or January.

    Looks like Star Trek Continues, Vic Mignogna, and Farragut Films are in some turmoil.

    1. He has a point, Christopher. “Star Trek Continues” is flourishing, and despite any disputes going on behind the scenes, it looks like it’s a success. If there were any “antics and other forms of unprofessionalism” going on, then it’s not showing up in the end product, which, at the end of the day, is all that matters.

  8. Maybe to some. But to others who have been affected by Vic’s BS, not so much. As far as it not showing is concerned, actors are known to be very convincing in their profession.

    After speaking with some other people who have had unpleasant experiences with Vic, in the past couple of months, there appears to be more going on than just personal spite. It appears that Star Trek Continues is also an attempt to take out the competition(i.e. Phase 2, Starship Farragut, and various other Star Trek fan films), just to pull up stakes, establish a studio out on the West Coast, and produce their own brand of Star Trek.

    And from what I have been told, the methods being used by Vic and his friends are really beyond the pale of any form of human conduct.

Speak Your Mind...

