The Cajun Samurai in the Year 2012!

Greetings everyone! Finally, with all the hoopla involving blackouts, SOPA, lawsuits and the like now settled down, I can finally lay out my plans over the next year for “The Cajun Samurai”. Now, I understand this might seem a little weird…after all, I’ve only been doing this for four months now, but in that time, I’ve had the chance to receive a lot of constructive comments and do a LOT of self-evaluation. Some things worked, some didn’t; it’s only natural! Hopefully, these changes and additions will add a bit of polish to my new jewel.

I’m going to try to abide by a simple schedule of at least two reviews a month, along with at least one “Drew Threw it to You” award winner. I think this is best instead of scheduling when reviews are done because my work schedule changes often, and I also have other obligations and projects to work on. Periodically, my friend Andrain will also come through with  “Andrain’s Try It Before You Buy It Corner”, a new section that premiered a few days ago and judging by the page views, is a great success. I’m also going to have months where a set theme will be observed. For example, next month is February, and I will devote that whole month to anime involving romance, couples, and love. August is “Digi-Month”, where the entire month will be dedicated to the “Digimon: Digital Monsters” franchise with special surprises and reviews. I might even include a few “Star Trek” reviews in the mix. It’s been my dream to combine both Star Trek and anime into one blog! Hopefully 2012 will bring that dream to fruition! There’s more in the works, but I’m not going to spoil the surprise just yet!

Beginning with “Planetes” review, I will be starting a new review format. It’s not that different from the original, but it will help organize things on my end and make things more uniform across the board. Of course, tag-team reviews will have a completely different format as they can take a life all on their own! The new format will be as follows:

Introduction – [Self explanatory, no? This is an introduction of the review.]

Series/Movie Warnings and Notable Objectionable Content – [This section will highlight whether or not the series or movie under review contains anything that might be considered objectionable like nudity, sexuality, religious imagery, excessive violence, stuff like that. I think it’s better that I use this instead of the “Who this Movie/Series is For” “Who this Movie/Series is NOT For”…and it just sounds better.]

Medium Availability: [I’m moving this section up to the top for convince sake. If the series is released in the US on DVD, this section will show where you can find it, either online or off. Please keep in mind that my searches are limited to ebay, Wal-Mart, Best Buy, Target, Frys Electronics and FYE (For Your Entertainment) and do not reflect current inventories; so don’t get mad at me if you go to Walmart trying to find “Excel Saga” and they’re sold out! I just said you could FIND it there…not that it would BE there…]

Story Breakdown – [I’m simplifying this section from “Story and Premise” to just “Story”. Pretty much, this is where I give a short summary of the story and my thoughts on it. 25 Points can be awarded here.]

Favorite Episodes/Scenes – [Something new this time around; this is where I highlight a particular episode or group of episodes that I really liked and deserves special mention. This is a NON SCORED SECTION!]

Characters – [Pretty much unchanged from the original reviews–this is where I give a breakdown of the main characters. 25 Points can be awarded here.]

Animation –  [Originally, this was combined with “Music”, but I decided to put it in its own category. Pretty much, this is a scoring on the animation style used throughout the series. 12.5 Points can be awarded here.]

Music and Soundtrack – [Pretty much, a score of all things musical with a series or movie. We will study the Opening Theme, Incidentals, and ending themes, along with any other music used in a series. Fair warning, when it comes time to review “Nerima Daikon Brothers” and “Beck: Mongolian Chop Squad“, this section will be the one to look for. 12.5 Points can be awarded here.]

Performances and Production – [This section is pretty much going to include my grades on the acting done in both the English and the Japanese, with emphasis on English Dubbing when appropriate. This section will also include the handling of the American release of an anime with regards to DVD/Blu-Ray Releases. 25 Points can be awarded here.]

Final Grade –  [The grading scale will remain the same as it was in the beginning, based of the Louisiana Grading Scale. However, I will be adding plus and minus grades depending on how close they are to the next letter grade. So if a series gets a 86.5, they wouldn’t just get a “C” grade, they would get a “C+”, because they were just within reach of the next grade. As a reminder, here’s the scale…]

A 100 – 93
B 87 – 92
C 75 – 86
D 70 – 74
F 0 – 69

“Lagniappe” –  [Pretty much unchanged from the original reviews. This is where I highlight some interesting trivia from the series.]

Conclusion –  [Again, self-explanatory! I wrap up the review!]

Announcement of New Series – [It’s here where I MIGHT announce what the next series or movie review is going to be…]

Now, the reason I said “might” was because, their will be times when I will have a bit of a contest where the readers…yes, YOU sitting there, can earn a chance to pick the next anime I review, and the format there of. This will be decided by playing the game “Seven Degrees of Separation”. This game is based on of the “Six Degrees of Kevin Bacon” game, except, because this will involve anime, I’m adding an additional step. Pretty much, I will pick two random people, one from anime, one not, and your job will be to link the non-anime person to the anime person in seven or fewer steps.

 

Johnny Yong Bosch - Resident Voice Actor and Power Ranger

I’ll give you an example: I’m going to link anime voice actor Johnny Yong Bosch with President Barack Obama:

Official photographic portrait of US President Barack Obama

  1. President Obama is the current President of the United States of America. His Democratic Predessor was Former President Bill Clinton
  2. Bill Clinton, when he was a governor of Arkansas, once appeared on “The Arsenio Hall Show” hosted by Arsenio Hall
  3. Arsenio Hall played Winston in the animated series “The Real Ghostbusters” with Maurice Lamarche who played Egon Spengler…
  4. Maurice Lamarche was also in a direct-to-VHS movie called “K10C: Kids’ Ten Commandments” along with voice actress Mona Marshall
  5. Mona Marshall played Chagum in “Moribito: Guardian of the Spirit” in which Johnny Yong Bosch played Sagum, his older brother.

And there you have it; a President linked with a former Power Ranger. Simple, no? The one who does it the best and in the most creative fashion will win the right to request an anime or movie review from the “My Collection” list, baring they do not have the red-strike through. I will even allow “Second Chance” reviews; that is, if I already review the series, and you win, and you think I did a crappy job the first time around, you can make me review it again!

Well, there you have it. 2012 is going to be a month full of changes and new additions for this little blog, and I hope you all enjoy them! Now if you’ll excuse me…”Planetes” awaits…

2 thoughts on “The Cajun Samurai in the Year 2012!

  1. Thanks so much! There are a lot of other months you should look forward to as well, including a month where I do a study of both the Risembool Rangers and the Miniskirt Army fanclubs, an entire month devoted to Adult Swim anime, and even a wildcard month where the readers pick the next review!

Speak Your Mind...

