The Best of 2011: “Best Old-School Anime of 2011”

Well, will you look at that! In about a week from now, 2011 will be but a distant memory and 2012 will be upon us! I was thinking it would be nice if, for the rest of the year, I would take a look back at some of my favorite things in the world of anime from the past year! Last but not least, let’s go back in time a bit, and see what topped the list as the best old-school anime series of 2011!

Best Old-School Anime of 2011: “FLCL”

August 4, 2003. My world changed forever that day. At least, with regards to anime. That night, I was introduced to the madness that is, was, and forever will be “FLCL”. Is it a Coming of Age story like “His and Her Circumstances”? Is it a mecha series like “Neon Genesis Evangelion”? The answer is yes…and no. “FLCL” is so much yet so little. It’s all of these things, yet none of them at all. It’s like the ingredients for sushi: you know what “rice” is and how it tastes, you know what “fish” is and how it tastes, you know what “seaweed” is and how it tastes. But when you combine the ingredients together and eat them, it’s a whole new sensation. Each time you eat it, it tastes different. The same can be said for “FLCL”. Each time you watch it, something different pops out at you. You notice something different that you didn’t notice before, even with repeated viewings. And with the re-release by Funimation in both DVD and Blu-Ray formats, “FLCL” will enjoy a long life of confusing and enthralling viewers for years to come.

And that’s it ladies and gentlemen! The best of the best of 2011! I know I had some weird picks, but like I said before, these were just my choices for the best of this last year. Your mileage may vary. All that’s left for the year is the Dual-Review of “Hanamaru Kindergarten”, one final “Drew Threw it to You” award winner, and that will be it for the year! Hang on tight ladies and gentlemen, we’re going all the way to the end!

2 thoughts on “The Best of 2011: “Best Old-School Anime of 2011”

  1. I’m sorry. I really, really tried to like FLCL. But, alas, I could not. It had good music, but that was really all I can say that’s positive. Don’t try to convince me otherwise, Josh. I will never like it.

Speak Your Mind...

