The Best of 2011: “Best Male Voice Actor of 2011” English/Japanese

Well, will you look at that! In about a week from now, 2011 will be but a distant memory and 2012 will be upon us! I was thinking it would be nice if, for the rest of the year, I would take a look back at some of my favorite things in the world of anime from the past year! Moving on along, let’s open our ears and listen to the best male voice actors (English and Japanese) of 2011

Best Male Voice Actor (Japanese): Hiroyuki Yoshino

I agonized over this one for a bit, truth be told. I couldn’t really think who should get this one. But, all it took was one quick listen to Bossun’s voice in “Sket Dance” and that sealed his position for me for best Japanese V/A for 2011. Sure he’s done other great roles, but this one really made my mind up for me!

 

 

 

 

 

Best Male Voice Actor (English): Vic Mignogna

A little while back, a friend of mine and fellow blogger said to me “but I thought you didn’t like him (Vic). You always give qhim such negativity on your blog…” Time to set the record straight. I think Vic Mignogna is one of the best voice actors around. He’s also a very talented singer [I have several CD’s in my truck to prove that…], and an overall good person [I know about a thousand fangirls that can prove that too…]. HOWEVER, there are somethings that I admittedly took him to task for, just like I would anyone else. In fact, after reviewing past entries, I found I only really gave him a bit of a blast in the “Mushi-Shi” review, and even then, it was mostly a blast to the director for casting such a familiar person in that role with a voice that EVERYBODY knows. With regards to the quote I used in the “Ghost Stories” review, I found that line funny, so I wanted to use it. It’s that simple. Long story short, with his portrayal of Edward Elric in the “Fullmetal Alchemist” dub, and because of these moments of awesomeness, and because I would feel strange NOT giving it to him after using two of his songs for my photo projects, Vic Mignogna gets the nod for best English voice actor for 2011!

Next: Best Female Voice Actress of 2011 English/Japanese!

Speak Your Mind...

