New Additions to the Anime Bayou and an Update on “The End of Evangelion”

Peace and love everyone! Once again, my trips to my local anime hotspots have proved fruitful; behold the newest additions to my collection and a preview of future reviews:

Barefoot Gen: The Movies 1&2″ – I picked this one up at FYE during their “Animania” event, and I just had to have it. [though, to be technical, I already had it in my collection. This is actually the special release version from a few years back that contains both “Barefoot Gen” movies.] If you have not seen “Barefoot Gen”, I highly recommend you do. It tells the story of a boy and his family and how they survive in a world towards the end of World War II. It’s a powerful story, and I’ll be writing up a review for it in the coming days, so keep on the lookout!

Akira: The Special Edition – Another pickup from FYE today. This is a special two-disk edition, and it was on sale for “Animania”. In addition, it has the original American dub which features Johnny Yong Bosch as Kaneda and Joshua Seth as Tetsuo. What more could you possibly ask for? A review is in the works.

Cromartie High School” (Volumes 1-4) – I grabbed all four volumes of this ridiculously funny series from a video store reducing its inventory, and I’m glad I did. Though each individual episode is short [almost 10 minutes…and that’s counting the opening and ending credits], each one packs so much comedy into it, you never really notice it! It’s pretty much a story of crazy “delinquent” high school students and their misadventures at Cromartie High, a school with an unusual student body. I’ll get around to reviewing it eventually.

Highschool of the Dead: Complete Collection” – This one I got from Best Buy using a $10 off coupon I earned when I bought my computer last month. The premise behind it: Zombies have invaded the world, and our intrepid [not to mention curvy] band of high schoolers must try to survive the infestation. This anime manages to pack comedy, action, adventure, and plenty of fanservice [in fact, more fanservice that I ever thought possible] into 12 episodes. Add to that the hilarious dub as directed by Steven Foster [you’ll remember him from the “Ghost Stories” dub…] and you have series that will take your breath away…both in horror and laughter. A review will be forthcoming!

Tenchi Universe: Time and Space Adventures” – This one I also picked up from the video store, and it effectively completes the “Tenchi Universe” set. I haven’t had the chance to check it out completely, but suffice it to say, it’s never dull. A full review of “Tenchi Universe” will be forthcoming!

And there you have it! “The Cajun Samurai” anime collection has grown even more…now to try to find room to fit it all…

In other news, I’m going to start working on the “End of Evangelion” review this week! Hopefully, this movie will get a much better score than it’s predecessor, “Death and Rebirth” did. I’ll also be working on that “Angry Kinda, Sorta, Maybe Letter” to Amanda Winn-Lee  and hopefully post it immediately after my review of “End of Evangelion”. Before the end of the month, we’ll wrap up the last two “Evangelion” movies and appoint a new winner of the “Drew Threw It To You” award! November is going to be a month to remember, so please stick around!

Speak Your Mind...

